Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I think my coffee might have gluten in it? It's weird. I purchased Private Selection ground vanilla flavored coffee from my local Kroger a little while back. It was alright the first couple times but the most recent 2 times it gave me immediate diarrhea unlike anything I have experienced with other coffee.

I was diagnosed with Celiac a month ago so I am new to this all. Could the "natural" or "artifical" flavorings contain gluten? There is no indication on the package of wheat contamination nor is there a "gluten free" seal. For awhile I thought it was my peppermint mocha Coffeemate, but it clearly states lactose/gluten free on the label. I tried the creamer with a different coffee today (Starbucks Pike Roast) and I was fine. So what's the deal!? I sent an email to Kroger about it but have yet to hear back. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is not uncommon to use Barley Malt in flavorings in coffees, it could be you will have to wait for the email to be sure. I checked private selections but they say they will list any known allergens when they are used in their products. I do know Kroger had a issue a month or so ago about a product containing malt in the "Flavorings" and not mentioning it as containing gluten and made some people sick. I think I saw it in a article I skimmed on glutenfreewatchdog.  

Seems you narrowed it down to something in it making you sick though, so best to stay away from it for now. If you still get mild reactions you might want to change out you coffee maker.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

42 minutes ago, squirmingitch said:

Very intriguing I noticed something interesting in this, in Europe they use wheat in caramel coloring, this could be relevant to several of the members here. As to coffee and flavoring, I have found a few companies that have admitted to using barley malt in flavorings. These are normally labelled but there was that one issues I mentioned before where they use a malt and the wheat warning gets left off til someone gets sick.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...