Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I am looking at some skin care products.  The pharmacist who makes them insists that dextrin & dextrin palmitate are sugars and not gluten.  On all the lists of things to avoid, dextrin & dextrin palmitate are listed as hidden gluten.   Does anyone have an answer to why a dextrin sugar would have hidden gluten?   

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dextrin is made by breaking down starch.  If the starch came from wheat, there could be contamination with wheat protein (gluten).  But I think in the US if dextrin is from wheat it is supposed to say so.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...