Jump to content
Frequently Asked Questions About Celiac Disease Read more... ×
  • Sign Up
2 2
Pauliewog

Kirkland Artichoke Hearts

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I found these on sale at Costco and I haven't eaten them in years. While they do not say "gluten free" they also don't have anything that I can see, aside from distilled vinegar, that might be an issue. I don't see any CC issues either. Just wondering before I dig in if anyone has had any experience good or bad with them. Thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Been enjoing them for years both cooked in gluten-free pasta and raw in salads. Never  a problem with them. 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks Kenlove. I know you have been in Japan so you'll understand when I say the artichoke hearts were on sale for 377 yen for the two jar set. Too good to pass up! As long as I can eat them!

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Been wondering about these also, I been personally just using frozen ones from Trader Joe's. But I also have a thing with the salt, thinking a good rinse and soak in some water for 15mins should help pull it out. Would be great in omlettes, sautes, and in my pasta dishes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 3/23/2017 at 9:55 PM, Pauliewog said:

Thanks Kenlove. I know you have been in Japan so you'll understand when I say the artichoke hearts were on sale for 377 yen for the two jar set. Too good to pass up! As long as I can eat them!

 

now thats  deal for there.  My wife just  bought the big two jar set yesterday forgetting they  we bought one set together last week. Going to be having a lot of them over the next few months!

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I got this answer from costco

Bonjour Antoine,

Merci d'avoir pris le temps de nous écrire.

Notre acheteur indique que le produit est exempt de gluten. le seul allergène à considérer est la moutarde. Voir la réponse ci-bas :
 
"Hello,
No it does not.  The only allergen of concern with this item is Mustard.
Regards,"
 
So yeah, they are safe and delicious!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does it seem most marinated and plain canned artichoke hearts would be gluten-free?  I saw a few gluten-free recipes online that call for artichokes in them, and they don't specify a certain brand or mention getting gluten-free ones (even though they might go out of their way to mention getting a gluten-free pasta in the recipe).  So I was wondering if it seems most artichokes are gluten-free?  I am going to try to find the Kirkland or Delallo brands this week, but if I can't find them I am wondering if I dare try some other brand, as long as I read the ingredients first.  Anyone tried any random brands and been okay with them? 

I am thinking a chicken and artichoke quiche would be tasty on the menu this week.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
2 2

×