Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


0
Natalie1993

Need advice on some rice please

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Hi all, I live in the UK so i hope this isnt much different, i went the co operative yesterday and got co ops own brand of basmati rice. I am just unsure if it is safe to eat because it has emulsifier (mono and diglycerides of fatty acids) in. I know mono etc is gluten-free. But emulsifiers i am not sure because some say it is and some say it isnt., so please let me know thank you.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


2 hours ago, Natalie1993 said:

Hi all, I live in the UK so i hope this isnt much different, i went the co operative yesterday and got co ops own brand of basmati rice. I am just unsure if it is safe to eat because it has emulsifier (mono and diglycerides of fatty acids) in. I know mono etc is gluten-free. But emulsifiers i am not sure because some say it is and some say it isnt., so please let me know thank you.

I guess this isn't plain rice?  You might check with your Celiac association web page.  I think that there is a law that all gluten must be clearly labelled?  So it must say "wheat"


 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

You said Co-OP as in a local group co-op and not a natural branded rice? What kind of packaging is it in? I would personally be hesitant. GFD has mentioned where alot of companies that do multiple lines of grains can get the random gluten containing grain mixed in batches of non gluten containing grains. I have seen this with lentils, rice, quinoa, and even beans that end up with random wheat or barely grains mixed in. This would actually be more of a concern the the emulsifier. The emulsifier has a high chance of being corn starch, potato starch, tapioca  starch, rice starch, wheat flour, konjac flour, guar gum, or xantham gum. As mentioned most companies will declare if it contains wheat directly along with other major allergens,  

My suggestion is 1. Call the company, two check with with the celiac association on the product. or 3. Throw it out and buy something you know is safe by Lundberg Rice or Lotus. I have a list of gluten-free product alternatives https://www.celiac.com/forums/topic/117090-gluten-free-food-alternatives-list/

Check Amazon in the UK for these or something that has the UK equivalent of a gluten-free certification

 


Diagnosed Issues
Celiac (Gluten Ataxia, and Villi Damage dia. 2014, Villi mostly healed on gluten-free diet 2017 confirmed by scope)
Ulcerative Colitis (Dia, 2017), ADHD, Bipolar, Asperger Syndrome (form of autism)
Allergies Corn, Whey
Sensitivities/Intolerances
Peanuts (resolved 2019), Cellulose Gel, Lactose, Soy, Yeast
Olives (Seems to have resolved or gone mostly away as of Jan, 2017), Sesame (Gone away as of June 2017, still slight Nausea)
Enzyme issues with digesting some foods I have to take Pancreatic Enzymes Since mine does not work right, additional food prep steps also
Low Tolerance for sugars and carbs (Glucose spikes and UC Flares)
Occupation Gluten Free Bakery, Paleo Based Chef/Food Catering

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

13 minutes ago, Ennis_TX said:

You said Co-OP as in a local group co-op and not a natural branded rice? What kind of packaging is it in? I would personally be hesitant. GFD has mentioned where alot of companies that do multiple lines of grains can get the random gluten containing grain mixed in batches of non gluten containing grains. I have seen this with lentils, rice, quinoa, and even beans that end up with random wheat or barely grains mixed in. This would actually be more of a concern the the emulsifier. The emulsifier has a high chance of being corn starch, potato starch, tapioca  starch, rice starch, wheat flour, konjac flour, guar gum, or xantham gum. As mentioned most companies will declare if it contains wheat directly along with other major allergens,  

My suggestion is 1. Call the company, two check with with the celiac association on the product. or 3. Throw it out and buy something you know is safe by Lundberg Rice or Lotus. I have a list of gluten-free product alternatives https://www.celiac.com/forums/topic/117090-gluten-free-food-alternatives-list/

Check Amazon in the UK for these or something that has the UK equivalent of a gluten-free certification

 

She is in the UK.  Probably doesn't have the same brands.  Also, the laws are a bit different than in the US.


 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Hi, yes co op do a brand of foods and it is theirs. I have contacted them on twitter and sent them photos of the packaging and they are going to find out for me. Obviously i am not going to eat it until i am 100 percent sure. But if i found out now rather than later, then i know for future purchases. Thank you again for the advice, much appreciated. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

0


Join eNewsletter