Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


0
Victoria1234

gluten-free alcohol

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I just commented on 2 different beer questions and now I Realize  I haven't had any alcohol in ages. Suddenly wanting something to celebrate the end of the school year! What alcohols are gluten-free? Like rum and vodka type alcohols? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


1 hour ago, Victoria1234 said:

I just commented on 2 different beer questions and now I Realize  I haven't had any alcohol in ages. Suddenly wanting something to celebrate the end of the school year! What alcohols are gluten-free? Like rum and vodka type alcohols? 

The Distilling process removes most if not all gluten from any hard liqour even wheat based ones the exception being some flavored ones. NOW if you want wheat free, rum and a FEW BRANDS OF VODKA are wheat free. most vodka now days is made with grains, There are a few brands that still make a potato vodka and a grape vodka, and even a corn one.    I personally just stick to rum and use it mostly for cooking now days. Can not drink the stuff much any more. AGAIN be careful of flavored liquors. 


Diagnosed Issues
Celiac (Gluten Ataxia, and Villi Damage dia. 2014, Villi mostly healed on gluten-free diet 2017 confirmed by scope)
Ulcerative Colitis (Dia, 2017), ADHD, Bipolar, Asperger Syndrome (form of autism)
Allergies Corn, Whey
Sensitivities/Intolerances
Peanuts (resolved 2019), Cellulose Gel, Lactose, Soy, Yeast
Olives (Seems to have resolved or gone mostly away as of Jan, 2017), Sesame (Gone away as of June 2017, still slight Nausea)
Enzyme issues with digesting some foods I have to take Pancreatic Enzymes Since mine does not work right, additional food prep steps also
Low Tolerance for sugars and carbs (Glucose spikes and UC Flares)
Occupation Gluten Free Bakery, Paleo Based Chef/Food Catering

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

1 hour ago, Ennis_TX said:

The Distilling process removes most if not all gluten from any hard liqour even wheat based ones the exception being some flavored ones. NOW if you want wheat free, rum and a FEW BRANDS OF VODKA are wheat free. most vodka now days is made with grains, There are a few brands that still make a potato vodka and a grape vodka, and even a corn one.    I personally just stick to rum and use it mostly for cooking now days. Can not drink the stuff much any more. AGAIN be careful of flavored liquors. 

Thanks! Rum it shall be!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

14 hours ago, TexasJen said:

100 % agave tequila is Gluten free. (some cheaper brands of tequila mix with grain alcohol -  they are called "Mixto"  So, you just have to make sure it says 100% agave.

Tito's vodka is Certified gluten-free

Oh thank you! I think I have some 100% agave tequila already... unless my husband drank it <_<

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

0


Join eNewsletter