Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I was looking at package of California rolls (rice rolls).  The label listed allergens and did not include wheat.  I checked the ingredients anyway and saw soy sauce (water, soy bean salt, modified soy starch).  I'm confused.  I didn't buy it because it listed soy sauce and I wasn't sure.  Any thoughts or experience?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Most, but not all, soy sauces contain wheat. As a top allergen, the wheat must be labelled by that exact word--wheat. The list in parentheses after the "soy sauce" is the ingredients in that particular ingredient. No gluten there. Enjoy it! It is safe.


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

8 minutes ago, psawyer said:

Most, but not all, soy sauces contain wheat. As a top allergen, the wheat must be labelled by that exact word--wheat. The list in parentheses after the "soy sauce" is the ingredients in that particular ingredient. No gluten there. Enjoy it! It is safe.

Would the same apply to Hydrolyzed Soy Protein?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

18 minutes ago, Scarlettsdad said:

Would the same apply to Hydrolyzed Soy Protein?

Hydrolyzed Soy Protein is Soy Protein not wheat protein

 

42 minutes ago, Boreal said:

I was looking at package of California rolls (rice rolls).  The label listed allergens and did not include wheat.  I checked the ingredients anyway and saw soy sauce (water, soy bean salt, modified soy starch).  I'm confused.  I didn't buy it because it listed soy sauce and I wasn't sure.  Any thoughts or experience?

There is a form of soy sauce called Tamari Soy sauce which is derived from just soy and not wheat commonly being gluten free.

 

Other options for soy sauce exist, I personally can not have soy but have found the perfect replacement in Coconut Aminos has a almost identical taste and can be subbed in all recipes exactly as soy sauce is. Coconut secret makes this product and it is completely gluten free, they also make great garlic sauce and a tarayaki sauce, along with some great Ungranola (granola made without oats and gluten free) and some good chocolate bars. Feel free to check out there site and get a mixed order in. I personally have a whole sale account with them and get in co-opted bulk orders with some others a few times a year.


Diagnosed Issues
Celiac (Gluten Ataxia, and Villi Damage dia. 2014, Villi mostly healed on gluten-free diet 2017 confirmed by scope)
Ulcerative Colitis (Dia, 2017), ADHD, Bipolar, Asperger Syndrome (form of autism)
Allergies Corn, Whey
Sensitivities/Intolerances
Peanuts (resolved 2019), Cellulose Gel, Lactose, Soy, Yeast
Olives (Seems to have resolved or gone mostly away as of Jan, 2017), Sesame (Gone away as of June 2017, still slight Nausea)
Enzyme issues with digesting some foods I have to take Pancreatic Enzymes Since mine does not work right, additional food prep steps also
Low Tolerance for sugars and carbs (Glucose spikes and UC Flares)
Occupation Gluten Free Bakery, Paleo Based Chef/Food Catering

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Yes, if there was wheat it would be disclosed. Hydrolyzed protein is not a concern, unless it is wheat protein. 


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

0


Join eNewsletter