Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


0
Scarlettsdad

Different types of Soy ingredients

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Are all soy ingredients similar when it comes to allergies? In other words, if you are allergic to soy, would you react to all types of soy?..ex)soy lecithin, defatted soy flour, etc? I'm asking because my daughter doesn't react to those 2 types of soy(defatted soy flour is found in kinnikinnik's gluten-free pancake mix and soy lecithin in other types of gluten-free food), so would it be safe to have her try foods that have other forms of soy? ex) soy protein. Excuse me if these questions seem silly or have obvious answers but I'm still somewhat new to what to look out for and learning every day! :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


I am okay with lecithin and can have limited amounts of soy oil, like in mayo. Soy protein or flour definately not okay. If you want to test soy protein or flour have her try them one at a time a couple times a day for a week or until she reacts if she reacts sooner.  Try them in items that have limited ingredients that you already know she tolerates.


Courage does not always roar, sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying

"I will try again tommorrow" (Mary Anne Radmacher)

Diagnosed by Allergist with elimination diet and diagnosis confirmed by GI in 2002

Misdiagnoses for 15 years were IBS-D, ataxia, migraines, anxiety, depression, fibromyalgia, parathesias, arthritis, livedo reticularis, hairloss, premature menopause, osteoporosis, kidney damage, diverticulosis, prediabetes and ulcers, dermatitis herpeformis

All bold resoved or went into remission in time with proper diagnosis of Celiac November 2002

 Gene Test Aug 2007

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 1 0303

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 2 0303

Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 3,3 (Subtype 9,9)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

I have a true soy allergy (mouth and throat begin to itch immediately upon ingestion, positive skin prick test). I personally avoid soy lecithin, although I know that it should not contain any protein, which is the part that people with allergies react to. I don't worry about soybean oil (which can be labelled as vegetable oil in Canada) as much, though I avoid where possible. To be honest though, the ingredient that gives me the most chagrin is the dreaded "natural flavours." I stay away from it even in gluten-free labelled products unless I specific disclaimer is made, which is a biiig bummer.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

0


Join eNewsletter