This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Reluctant newbie

Peaceful35

Peaceful35 Newbie

Hello everyone. I am new to this crazy world of gluten allergies. And for the longest time I was in denial... Not anymore! I'm really struggling w depression and anxiety due to my new diet. I'm having such a hard time finding foods I enjoy and that my son will eat w me! (I'm a newly single mom also..) any ideas or pointers you all could send my way would be so appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

cyclinglady Grand Master
51 minutes ago, Peaceful35 said:

Hello everyone. I am new to this crazy world of gluten allergies. And for the longest time I was in denial... Not anymore! I'm really struggling w depression and anxiety due to my new diet. I'm having such a hard time finding foods I enjoy and that my son will eat w me! (I'm a newly single mom also..) any ideas or pointers you all could send my way would be so appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Welcome.  I recommend reading the Newbie 101 thread located under the "Coping section".  Focus on Whole Foods that are naturally gluten free (meat, fish, veggies, fruit, nuts, rice, etc.).  My kid does not have to eat gluten free, but she enjoys the gluten-free diet.  She gets gluten-filled treats away from home (e.g. School).  I am sure you will both adjust soon.  It just takes time.  

pschwab Enthusiast