Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


0
Alanamari

Gluten Free Cream Cheese

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


4 minutes ago, Alanamari said:

Phillidelphia cream cheese ingredients include whey.  How can it be considered gluten free if it has whey in it?  I have been told Whey, Barley, malt all contain wheat?

 

 Wheat, Barley, Barley malt and rye contain gluten.  Whey is milk.  It is gluten free.  

 

You need to get some reliable info about Celiac.  See the Newbie thread for a starting point.

 

Edited by kareng
adding link

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

26 minutes ago, Alanamari said:

Phillidelphia cream cheese ingredients include whey.  How can it be considered gluten free if it has whey in it?  I have been told Whey, Barley, malt all contain wheat?

 

If dairy is giving you issues Kite Hill makes a dairy and gluten free version...there is also Dairy and Gluten free cream cheese extract from Lor Ann Oils that is great for making things taste like creamcheese (a secret ingredient in many of my baked goods)

Might want to check this list of UNSAFE ingredients. https://www.celiac.com/articles.html/unsafe-gluten-free-food-list-unsafe-ingredients-r182/


Diagnosed Issues
Celiac (Gluten Ataxia, and Villi Damage dia. 2014, Villi mostly healed on gluten-free diet 2017 confirmed by scope)
Ulcerative Colitis (Dia, 2017), ADHD, Bipolar, Asperger Syndrome (form of autism)
Allergies Corn, Whey
Sensitivities/Intolerances
Peanuts (resolved 2019), Cellulose Gel, Lactose, Soy, Yeast
Olives (Seems to have resolved or gone mostly away as of Jan, 2017), Sesame (Gone away as of June 2017, still slight Nausea)
Enzyme issues with digesting some foods I have to take Pancreatic Enzymes Since mine does not work right, additional food prep steps also
Low Tolerance for sugars and carbs (Glucose spikes and UC Flares)
Occupation Gluten Free Bakery, Paleo Based Chef/Food Catering

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

This is the second time recently that the question of whey has come up. Where is this misinformation coming from? Casein intolerance is common among those with celiac disease, especially those in recovery, but whey is gluten free.


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

7 minutes ago, psawyer said:

This is the second time recently that the question of whey has come up. Where is this misinformation coming from? Casein intolerance is common among those with celiac disease, especially those in recovery, but whey is gluten free.

I am wondering if they are getting it confused with a whey protein powder  that might contain gluten?  They might not realize that the protein powder sold for making smoothies is a multi ingredient thing and it isn't the whey that is the gluten issue?   Or one of these fringe sites that tell you strange things? You know the ones that think eggs are dairy?  ?

Edited by kareng

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

0


Join eNewsletter