Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


0
Sassinograin

Mayo, mustards, condiments...gluten-free or not? Less is more...

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

All ingredients should be specific & known....less is more. 

Unless labeled, 'vinegar' comes from grains, Period!!!  Distilled, white, even organic, come from grains...NOT gluten-free!!! If notated, apple cider, wine, some balsamics,..specifically labeled, are truly gluten-free. Many are allergic to soy as well; most mayos have soy oil as 1st & most prevalent ingredient. Soy also destroys your thyroid.

Also, when you see "SPICES" on the label, these should also be considered gluten, as they are too vague to know for sure.

I was diagnosed in '08 w/  gluten/dairy intolerance & did well but off & on would get off track. Lots of research years later...i found many little idiosyncracies in this challenging but very doable journey I call 'happy core, happy more'. I'm not much of a blogger, but if i can help people to have less misery & clearer thinking, we all win:D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


And the best way to keep safe is to avoid incorrect information.

In the US and Canada, vinegar is gluten-free with the sole exception of malt vinegar, which will be listed as exactly that, "malt vinegar." Plain "vinegar" is apple cider vinegar, which may or may not be distilled.

There are many things that can be listed as "spices," but NONE of them are grains. "Spices" can not be used to hide gluten.


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

I use Sir Kensingtons, Coconut Secret, and OrganicVille condiments in my cooking and chef work (I do specialty chef work cooking gluten free meals for people) both are all gluten free. Spice wise I mostly use Spicely Organics, with the exceptions of personal use I sometimes use The Spice House Sausage blends and tomato powder, And I have blends from Big AXE and Flavor God in my meal prep kit I take when I head out of town.

https://www.sirkensingtons.com/products

http://new.organicvillefoods.com/category/products/

https://www.spicely.com/collections/organic-spices-seasoning

My most recent culinary masterpiece was making vegan chorizo that was so dead on in texture, flavor, and cooking that NO one in the focus groups could tell it was not made from real meat.

 


Diagnosed Issues
Celiac (Gluten Ataxia, and Villi Damage dia. 2014, Villi mostly healed on gluten-free diet 2017 confirmed by scope)
Ulcerative Colitis (Dia, 2017), ADHD, Bipolar, Asperger Syndrome (form of autism)
Allergies Corn, Whey
Sensitivities/Intolerances
Peanuts (resolved 2019), Cellulose Gel, Lactose, Soy, Yeast
Olives (Seems to have resolved or gone mostly away as of Jan, 2017), Sesame (Gone away as of June 2017, still slight Nausea)
Enzyme issues with digesting some foods I have to take Pancreatic Enzymes Since mine does not work right, additional food prep steps also
Low Tolerance for sugars and carbs (Glucose spikes and UC Flares)
Occupation Gluten Free Bakery, Paleo Based Chef/Food Catering

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

1 hour ago, Sassinograin said:

All ingredients should be specific & known....less is more. 

Unless labeled, 'vinegar' comes from grains, Period!!!  Distilled, white, even organic, come from grains...NOT gluten-free!!! If notated, apple cider, wine, some balsamics,..specifically labeled, are truly gluten-free. Many are allergic to soy as well; most mayos have soy oil as 1st & most prevalent ingredient. Soy also destroys your thyroid.

Also, when you see "SPICES" on the label, these should also be considered gluten, as they are too vague to know for sure.

I was diagnosed in '08 w/  gluten/dairy intolerance & did well but off & on would get off track. Lots of research years later...i found many little idiosyncracies in this challenging but very doable journey I call 'happy core, happy more'. I'm not much of a blogger, but if i can help people to have less misery & clearer thinking, we all win:D

I think Peter said I think well.

 

also - people with Celiac do not have to avoid all grains.  People with Celaic do not need to avoid soy, either.  


 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Awol has problems with white distilled vinegar even in the small amounts in gluten free condiments. To my knowledge this only began after my gluten challenge in Oct 2016. It is not gluten so not a celiac gluten issue. I now skip or make my own condiments since the white distilled vinegar is revealing itself to be the culprit. It is likely unique to me versus celiac's per say so not all celiac's would have this issue. I have multiple intolerance's now. Even after I dropped store bought condiments it further revealed itself when I made home made salad dressing with white distilled vinegar in it. Hence how we deduced my issue distilled white vinegar issue.

I now make my salad dressings, I often skip condiments, and if I really desire a condiment it is made fresh homemade with apple cider vinegar and my body seems to be tolerating it.

So for those who have no issues with vinegar or condiments that is awesome. Those who are experiencing problems you will have to drop the condiment and determine by single ingredient, controlled exposure, food diary, symptom observation etc to determine your culprit.

I don't wish it on anyone its not a a fun experience, but in my opinion one can have a reaction to gluten free condiments from distilled white vinegar its your body communicating an intolerance to another ingredient one of which may be distilled white vinegar.

Happy experimenting-(said with complete and total sarcasm and great empathy)

Edit : links some current or future forum users may find helpful on this topic

https://www.fda.gov/iceci/compliancemanuals/compliancepolicyguidancemanual/ucm074471.htm

https://versatilevinegar.org/faqs/

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vinegar

http://www.heinzvinegar.com/vinegar-101.aspx

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

0


Join eNewsletter