Jump to content
Frequently Asked Questions About Celiac Disease Read more... ×
  • Sign Up
2 2
Melda

ready food

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Hi I'm a newbie

please help me to get info, are these food gluten free?

1. nutella

2. skippy peanut butter

3. soy sauce containing only black soy bean, salt, sugar, and water

4. maple syrup

5. fresh minced beef

thanks 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Welcome!  

Here is a link to our Newbie 101 thread that you might find useful.  

I can only comment on those foods that I have in my home or have purchased.

1.  Nutella is and it states it in the label.

2.  Skippy PB is gluten-free (not stated, but ingrediants are).

3.  Soy sauce.  It should state it on the label as gluten free or do not eat it.   Most soy sauce is NOT gluten free as it contains wheat.  

4.  Maple syrup is gluten-free if it is pure (only one ingrediant).  Otherwise read the ingredients.

5.  Fresh minced meat should be gluten-free if you prepared and cross contamination did not occur in your kitchen (e.g. Pot, cutting board, etc.).  Not sure if this is a canned product.

Bottom line is that you have to read labels carefully.  In the beginning it is best to eat fresh foo you prepared.  The. Add in processed food as you learn to read labels and determine if you have other intolerances to foods other than gluten (very common for celiacs or NCGI).  

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

https://www.celiac.com/gluten-free/topic/91878-newbie-info-101/

^Newbie 101 section PS you are diagnosed celiac right? Sorry but a standard question as you should get the diagnosis out of the way before going gluten-free.
https://www.celiac.com/gluten-free/topic/117090-gluten-free-food-alternatives-list/

^ Have a nice list of food alternatives, including condiments. NOTE we suggest a whole foods only diet starting off to boost healing. Also we suggest dropping anything with oats or dairy for the first few months. Oats some celiacs react to regardless of gluten-free or not, Dairy is broken down by enzymes produced by the tips of your villi, if your celiac these are normally damaged and cause digestion issues or intolerance to dairy.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
2 2

×