Rate this topic

Hi everyone.  What brand hot dogs do you all eat?  I looked up online and saw a few brands that seem to repeatedly be mentioned as gluten-free.  At my grocery store this morning, they had a list of gluten free items in their deli, and I got Schonlands hot dogs (I think that's how they spell it).  Has anyone had those, and if so, did you feel okay? I'm not even sure yet I am going to eat one.  

https://www.kayemfoodservice.com/products/schonlands/franks/kayem-schonlands-natural-casing-franks-8-1

Does not state gluten free, but does not contain any gluten ingredients,....Here is my concern this a deli bulk item. as in delis buy them and sell them opened? This is a great concern for CC in and how they were handled. Many other things handled by deli personal contain gluten and is why many of us stick to prepackaged foods from a gluten free facility.

Personally as a chef I consider the "Hot Dog" a culinary blasphemy of blended meats. Jennie-o makes some turkey ones, Never had them since I am allergic to corn. I get my cooking meats sausage etc. from a local man who makes and does only longhorn products from his grass fed ones. I heard Coleman makes some good sausage, franks, and kielbasa. I have them on my "one day" list of safe meats to work with.