Jump to content
  • Sign Up
JosephK116

Corona, Pacifico, and other gluten free beers

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

So a friend of mine just gave me some great information on Corona and Pacifico. Apparently they are both naturally gluten free below 20 ppm. This is good news for me since I’ve been struggling to eliminate beer. Does anyone know any other beers that are “naturally” gluten free? 

There’s been some talk of Dos Equis being gluten-free. Can anyone confirm or deny this one?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
28 minutes ago, JosephK116 said:

So a friend of mine just gave me some great information on Corona and Pacifico. Apparently they are both naturally gluten free below 20 ppm. This is good news for me since I’ve been struggling to eliminate beer. Does anyone know any other beers that are “naturally” gluten free? 

There’s been some talk of Dos Equis being gluten-free. Can anyone confirm or deny this one?

 

They are not, Pacifico and Corona have gluten, you have been lied to. There are gluten free beers made from non gluten grains though.  I use cider alternatives in my house for guest and cooking.

Beer can not be tested accurately due to the nature of production and the elsia testing method.

If you check the sites for those you listed they contain malted barley and even state they contain gluten.
Few alternatives I trust and keep around
https://austineastciders.com/
^Local cider here in Texas, I keep these for guest, good alternative to the "Beer Can Chicken"

http://www.acecider.com/
^Suggested by someone else I was talking to

Other members suggested these in the past
New Planet Off the Grid Pale Ale
Dogfish Head Tweason’Ale
Bard’s Tale Dragon’s Gold Brown Ale
Redbridge Red Lager

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 hours ago, Ennis_TX said:

They are not, Pacifico and Corona have gluten, you have been lied to. There are gluten free beers made from non gluten grains though.  I use cider alternatives in my house for guest and cooking.

Beer can not be tested accurately due to the nature of production and the elsia testing method.

If you check the sites for those you listed they contain malted barley and even state they contain gluten.
Few alternatives I trust and keep around
https://austineastciders.com/
^Local cider here in Texas, I keep these for guest, good alternative to the "Beer Can Chicken"

http://www.acecider.com/
^Suggested by someone else I was talking to

Other members suggested these in the past
New Planet Off the Grid Pale Ale
Dogfish Head Tweason’Ale
Bard’s Tale Dragon’s Gold Brown Ale
Redbridge Red Lager

Proof that Pacifico is gluten free. 

http://gluteninbeer.blogspot.com/2016/03/pacifico.html?m=1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't have time to look the explanation up for you right now.  The chocolate chip cookies just came out of the oven....

 

do what  you want,  you can find a way to justify drinking beer.  If you are lucky, it really is gluten-free.  We just don't know for sure.  It's like a guy peeing on a pregnancy test  and it says " negative" and assuming it means he doesn't have an std. He used the wrong test!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would strongly refrain from getting accurate celiac-related information from a blogger.   This just came out this year and references medical studies. 

https://www.gluten.org/branchnews/gigbeerstudy/

Gluten-removed beer is not considered safe by leading celiac researchers.  

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
31 minutes ago, JosephK116 said:

Proof that Pacifico is gluten free. 

http://gluteninbeer.blogspot.com/2016/03/pacifico.html?m=1

Proof of Bull SH*T
http://www.discoverpacifico.com/faq
 

"What are the main ingredients in Pacifico?

Pacifico contains Filtered Water, Yeast, Malted Barley, Corn, and Hops."

 

"

Does Pacifico contain gluten?

There isn't an accepted methodology for testing gluten content in fermented beverages, so we cannot provide an accurate amount of gluten in our beers. There are traces of gluten in all our beers. We recommend that you consult your physician regarding consumption

"

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
12 minutes ago, Ennis_TX said:

Proof of Bull SH*T
http://www.discoverpacifico.com/faq
 

"What are the main ingredients in Pacifico?

Pacifico contains Filtered Water, Yeast, Malted Barley, Corn, and Hops."

 

"

Does Pacifico contain gluten?

There isn't an accepted methodology for testing gluten content in fermented beverages, so we cannot provide an accurate amount of gluten in our beers. There are traces of gluten in all our beers. We recommend that you consult your physician regarding consumption

"

 

Thank you

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Cookies were great.  

Just a quick link and a thought - the ATF part of the government that governs beer will not allow beer brewed with gluten grains to call the  beer gluten free  because there is  no scientifically accepted way to measure gluten in beer.  You can look that up or contact them. 

 

https://www.gluten.org/gluten-free-vs-gluten-removed-beer-study-q/

Edited by kareng

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...