Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

16 hours ago, kareng said:

Why wouldn't it be gluten-free?  whiskey is gluten-free. Wine is gluten-free.  

I understand the science around distillation, but there appears to be at least a grey area on this question for some where gluten grains are used in spirits: https://www.verywell.com/will-whiskey-make-me-sick-if-im-gluten-free-562778  I didn't do well on whisky after going gluten-free and had already removed gluten based spirits prior to stopping drinking entirely. So each to their own on this question in my view. :)

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi, I agree that it's not 100% that whisky/vodka etc are gluten free and it's to each their own to decide if they're willing to take the chance.  I have recently, in the past few days, been glutened and I think it's from the Apothic Crush.  I'm about to email them today to see what they say.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You will probably get the same answer from the wine maker.  As whiskey is considered gluten free by distillation, and wine is gluten free, they will tell you that the wine is gluten free. The percentage of people who say they react to whiskey is pretty small.....most Celiac's can drink whiskey once they have healed their gut.  I do not drink any hard liquor for different reasons but have had other wine by this label with no issues.  I have been gluten free for 12 years though.......I am very healed!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 minutes ago, Joelle L. said:

Yes, they said it was gluten-free but she couldn't confirm if they floured their barrels or the corks.  I guess I'll just stay away from Aphothic.  ;-(

This was the most comprehensive article on oak barrels I could find:

 

http://www.winespectator.com/webfeature/show/id/48789

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This wine is NOT gluten free. I am basing this on personal reaction only. I do have celiac disease but can usually drink red wine with no problem. I had this wine last night and was very sick all night and today. Since the only other things I ate yesterday were home cooked by myself I have to conclude it was the wine. Please if you have celiac do NOT drink this. If you aren’t celiac though you should try it cause it’s delicious. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
13 hours ago, ArdenS said:

This wine is NOT gluten free. I am basing this on personal reaction only. I do have celiac disease but can usually drink red wine with no problem. I had this wine last night and was very sick all night and today. Since the only other things I ate yesterday were home cooked by myself I have to conclude it was the wine. Please if you have celiac do NOT drink this. If you aren’t celiac though you should try it cause it’s delicious. 

If we are basing this on our experience only- I have had it many times and can say that I did not react - therefore it is gluten free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 5/31/2019 at 11:57 AM, kareng said:

If we are basing this on our experience only- I have had it many times and can say that I did not react - therefore it is gluten free.

Saying “I did not react - therefore it is gluten free” is not an accurate way to determine if something is actually completely gluten free. Everyone reacts differently to different AMOUNTS of gluten just like two people with an allergy to the same thing will react differently to different amounts of the allergen. Some people have no reaction to the 20 ppm gluten that is determined by the FDA to be “certified gluten free” but others will react to much smaller amounts of gluten than that. I was just saying that whatever amount of gluten is in that wine triggered a strong reaction in me. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, ArdenS said:

Saying “I did not react - therefore it is gluten free” is not an accurate way to determine if something is actually completely gluten free. Everyone reacts differently to different AMOUNTS of gluten just like two people with an allergy to the same thing will react differently to different amounts of the allergen. Some people have no reaction to the 20 ppm gluten that is determined by the FDA to be “certified gluten free” but others will react to much smaller amounts of gluten than that. I was just saying that whatever amount of gluten is in that wine triggered a strong reaction in me. 

It was in reply to someone that said if they think they react- then it contains gluten.  With that same way of thinking - I don’t react so it doesn’t contain gluten.

the fact is, if I stopped consuming everything someone on here insisted they had a gluten reaction to- there would be nothing to eat or drink.  

 Wine is considered safe and gluten free .  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 12/28/2017 at 1:44 PM, Joelle L. said:

Yes, they said it was gluten-free but she couldn't confirm if they floured their barrels or the corks.  I guess I'll just stay away from Aphothic.  ;-(

Hi. I am fully aware of the myth going around about gluten and wine, but it is just that... a myth. I have severe Celiacs and am in the wine business. Anytime gluten-free is on a wine label or a website description it is for marketing purposes. People in the business are flabbergasted as to why there is an idea out there that wine may have gluten. Barrels are never floured. That is not a thing. There is also no paste used on the barrels so you cannot get contaminated from that either. This is the first time I have heard the cork being floured so I asked and it is also not a thing. This applies to wineries all over the world. Some wine makers are horrified that people believe this. Stay away from a wine if it makes you uncomfortable or nervous to drink it, but please don't think you have been glutened from it... we have lost enough as it is we don't need to miss out on wine on top of it!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 minutes ago, m.ann.mac said:

Hi. I am fully aware of the myth going around about gluten and wine, but it is just that... a myth. I have severe Celiacs and am in the wine business. Anytime gluten-free is on a wine label or a website description it is for marketing purposes. People in the business are flabbergasted as to why there is an idea out there that wine may have gluten. Barrels are never floured. That is not a thing. There is also no paste used on the barrels so you cannot get contaminated from that either. This is the first time I have heard the cork being floured so I asked and it is also not a thing. This applies to wineries all over the world. Some wine makers are horrified that people believe this. Stay away from a wine if it makes you uncomfortable or nervous to drink it, but please don't think you have been glutened from it... we have lost enough as it is we don't need to miss out on wine on top of it!

Thank you!  ( tipping my glass of Parducci Petite Sirah)

Edited by kareng

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 5/31/2019 at 10:57 AM, kareng said:

If we are basing this on our experience only- I have had it many times and can say that I did not react - therefore it is gluten free.

I have Dermititus Herpetiformis which is caused by gluten and I have twice been affected by Apothic Red wine. I will stop drinking it for this reason. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...