Jump to content
  • Sign Up
artistsl

Divina Olives mislabeled allergen

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I reached out to Divina to inquire as to whether their olives contain gluten. The customer service representative replied informing that the blue cheese stuffed olives contain breadcrumbs therefore contain gluten. 

 

1) The Divina brand blue cheese stuffed olive label does not list gluten as an ingredient. 

 

2) All Divina brand olive labels have an allergen disclaimer specifying that the olives were manufactured in a facility that handles nuts. However, it is unclear as to whether the blue cheese stuffed olives are produced alongside all other Divina olive products in which case the allergen statement fails to disclose the fact that these products are produced in a facility that uses gluten.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, artistsl said:

I reached out to Divina to inquire as to whether their olives contain gluten. The customer service representative replied informing that the blue cheese stuffed olives contain breadcrumbs therefore contain gluten. 

 

1) The Divina brand blue cheese stuffed olive label does not list gluten as an ingredient. 

 

2) All Divina brand olive labels have an allergen disclaimer specifying that the olives were manufactured in a facility that handles nuts. However, it is unclear as to whether the blue cheese stuffed olives are produced alongside all other Divina olive products in which case the allergen statement fails to disclose the fact that these products are produced in a facility that uses gluten.

Get pictures if you can and contact GFWD if true and perhaps we can inform others better about this issue.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would trust the label over what some customer rep said on the phone but consider calling  back and talk to a supervisor.   I looked up the product and confirmed  there was no gluten.  I can not imagine gluten being added.  The rep might think “stuffed” is the same as “stuffing” as in turkey. ?

Seriously, there was a time when blue cheese was questionable as being safe for celiacs.   The mold might be been grown on a wheat or rye medium.  Learn more from Trisha, a gluten free dietitian and owner of the Gluten-free Watchdog.  

https://www.glutenfreedietitian.com/blue-cheese/

I do not know about you, but when I doubt a product, I usually do not purchase it as their are some many other good things to eat.    I don’t always have the time to do the research and sometimes piece of mind is priceless.  

 

 

Edited by cyclinglady

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 1/16/2018 at 9:42 PM, Ennis_TX said:

Get pictures if you can and contact GFWD if true and perhaps we can inform others better about this issue.

I've never used GFWD. I assume that is a website called gluten free watchdog? I've heard others mention it. I do have pictures. I will look them up. Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...