Jump to content
  • Sign Up


Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

2 hours ago, BruceInselman said:

I have read about the controversy with General Mills Cheerios and am now wondering if their Chex cereals are certified gluten free.  The Chex cereals are about the only cold cereal that I like.

No problem with Chex.  They are made completely differently.  The controversy about Cheerios has to do with using oats that were not grown and harvested to be gluten-free. gluten-free Chex are not made with oats. 

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Found it:  

"The Canadian Celiac Association (CCA) recommends that people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity DO NOT consume the gluten-free labeled Cheerios products at this time because of concerns about the potential levels of gluten in boxes of these cereals...Based on the information provided to date, our scientific advisors are not convinced that the testing procedures described by General Mills are sufficient to detect these contamination “hot spots” in the oats and oat flour or in the boxes of cereal that may contain those contaminated oats." 

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...