Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Depends on the country.

AUS - contains barley (http://www.marschocolate.com.au/products/mars/mars-bar-36g/)

USA - Snickers are devoid of gluten ingredients (https://marschocolate.com/snickers/snickers-bar), Mars bars are imported from Europe

Mars (the company) says that it will label allergens clearly if they are in the product, and provide precautionary statements if there is a risk of CC  (https://www.mms.com/us/legal/allergen.html). They don't say this explicitly, but I know from some of their other products (eg. Uncle Ben's rice) that they do label stuff gluten-free (presumably only when they are very sure).

Mars' website(s) are horrendous, and I couldn't find ingredient lists for any other country or region. However, based on their allergen policy, it might be fine to assume that the bars are safe as long as the ingredients list is ok and there are no warnings. Personally, I would want to see them say it's gluten-free either on their website or on the package, but I am quite sensitive.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In Europe Mars Bars are not Gluten Free. The easy way to tell is to read the ingredient list as, under European law, any of the 14 main Allergens must be highlighted if found in the product and that includes Cereals containing Gluten. In this case we are talking about Barley Malt. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...