Jump to content
  • Sign Up
Maddiecl

Glutened from Whiskey?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

So I have been gluten free for about 3.5 months now and I was finally starting to feel pretty good.  Last weekend I had a couple shots of Jim Beam Whiskey and I have been sick ever since.  I have read a lot of conflicting information on whether or not it is possible to have a reaction from distilled beverages.  Have any of you been "glutened" from whiskey? 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Technically it should be, but your talking about a liquor distilled from the same grains that trigger your celiac....not exactly smart. Most of us avoid all liquors made from them regardless in case there is somehow gluten reintroduced into the final product. Heck even some naturally gluten free beverages get gluten added to them in the form of malt flavorings. Point is stay safe and stick to liquors not derived from gluten grains. Rums are made from Molasses, Tequila is made from blue agave, and SOME vodkas are still made from potatoes...do check to make sure, you can even get grape vodka from ciroc and corn vodka from titos.
Other thoughts you gut might not have healed enough yet to handle alcohol.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 2/22/2018 at 6:15 PM, Maddiecl said:

So I have been gluten free for about 3.5 months now and I was finally starting to feel pretty good.  Last weekend I had a couple shots of Jim Beam Whiskey and I have been sick ever since.  I have read a lot of conflicting information on whether or not it is possible to have a reaction from distilled beverages.  Have any of you been "glutened" from whiskey? 

 

This is why I'm here right now! Last night I had a mixed cocktail that I've had many times before. But now I got glutened from it! I was baffled, so I checked every ingredient in my tropical drink, turns out peach schnapps is the culprit! I was floored. Schnapps, the cheaper versions, are made with a grain alcohol and flavorings. Where good German Schnapps is made differently. So my local restaurant must have switched to the cheap stuff, because after two sips I felt wrong so I put it aside. I had this drink last weekend and drank the whole thing and got terribly glutened, so I went back lady night to investigate. Yup! It's the Schnapps. Beware of grain alcohols! 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Beverages

Most beverages are gluten-free, including juices, sodas, and sports drinks. Alcoholic beverages, including wines and hard liquor/distilled liquors/hard ciders are also gluten-free. However, beers, ales, lagers, malt beverages and malt vinegars that are made from gluten-containing grains are not distilled and therefore are not gluten-free. There are several brands of gluten-free beers available in the United States and abroad.


Read more at https://celiac.org/live-gluten-free/glutenfreediet/food-options/#TAXDsUTK8LSYl508.99

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Joy Vail said:

This is why I'm here right now! Last night I had a mixed cocktail that I've had many times before. But now I got glutened from it! I was baffled, so I checked every ingredient in my tropical drink, turns out peach schnapps is the culprit! I was floored. Schnapps, the cheaper versions, are made with a grain alcohol and flavorings. Where good German Schnapps is made differently. So my local restaurant must have switched to the cheap stuff, because after two sips I felt wrong so I put it aside. I had this drink last weekend and drank the whole thing and got terribly glutened, so I went back lady night to investigate. Yup! It's the Schnapps. Beware of grain alcohols! 

If drinking at a bar...bring your own glass, common CC issues are bars just rinse out the glasses during rush hours, the drink it before yours could have been beer.....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...