This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

New Member Introduction

armyguy221

armyguy221 Newbie

Hello everyone.

My name is Chris and I just signed up for the forum. It’s a little late at night for me right now but I wanted to take the time to introduce myself. I’m actually very new to using a forum and I’m not quite sure about how much I should disclose about myself online. However, with that said, I’m looking forward to meeting new people and discussing issues with fellow Celiacs.

For starters, I was diagnosed in 2007 and have been on a gluten-free diet since. Currently, I am in my last semester of college and plan to graduate in May.

As I’m sure we all have been before, my journey to being diagnosed was a little too long for my liking and has caused me to feel some of the worst pain I’ve ever felt in my life. With that said, however, I consider myself extremely lucky and thankful that I do not have something much worse.

We found out that the gene is linked to my father’s side of the family, as one of my distant cousins also has Celiac disease.

Not to get too personal right off the bat, but I don’t mind sharing that even after being diagnosed, while feeling leaps and bounds better prior to being diagnosed, there have been periods throughout my life afterwards where I still get similar symptoms from time to time, though certainly not to the degree like before. Mostly just cramps before having to use the washroom and along with that some anxiety/sense of panic. I’ve found that to be the hardest thing to learn how to deal with properly and continues to be a bit of a struggle for me.