This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Crazy turn of events for daughter!

Carolina

Carolina Contributor

Hi all. I have posted here before about my 11yo being diagnosed with IBD and Celiac this past October. She has been a bit of an unusual case even within the typical variance of any IBD/Celiac patient. I am a voracious researcher and quite stubborn so I sought out a 3rd opinion recently because her first 2 GI's were never in agreement and always left me uneasy. I am more active on IBD forum, but curious to hear from the Celiac side of things as to how common a colitis to her degree is. Pediatric IBD tends to be much more aggressive than adult on-set in case that is new information to anyone.

Summary I wrote for the Pediatric IBD folks...

Last May she had 2-3 weeks of diarrhea, by the time we could get into GI she was better so we canceled. Fast forward to August she had another week of diarrhea (mild). I was concerned given previous episode, but thought maybe it was nerves of starting school as she is an anxious child. Then October she has another week of diarrhea so we then head into GI. Prior to flares, only symptoms I can think of is paleness and dark eye circles for 2-3 years prior. We were treating with sublingual allergy drops because she has tons of environmental allergies year-round so we attributed her palor to that. She has been consistent on height curve since birth, very slow decline on weight over last few years.