Jump to content
Frequently Asked Questions About Celiac Disease Read more... ×
  • Sign Up
4 4
Fbmb

Cheese

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Hi all,

I know that cheese is usually gluten free (if it’s in a block or doesn’t have weird ingredients in it, etc) but I was wondering about mozzarella cheese. I know that fresh mozzarella is made with vinegar, but I’m curious about the blocked mozz or string cheese.

I usually buy Walmart brand because they do a good job about labeling, and that’s where we do a lot of our shopping. Their mozz and their string cheese both say that they are gluten free. My kids love Sprouts cheddar cheese curds. They don’t say they’re gluten free, but the ingredients list doesn’t list anything other than ingredients that go into making cheese, and it simply says “contains milk”. They’re cheddar cheese curds. 

I was doing some looking online about cheeses and I stumbled upon a few websites that list cheeses that are “usually safe”. They list cheddar, Parmesan, ricotta, a few others. But what about Monterrey jack, Colby, pepper jack, Swiss, feta, etc? I don’t like blue cheese so I’m not worried about the whole mold issue with that. 

 I was under the impression that all of these cheeses are safe, unless the ingredients list something suspicious. 

Can someone clear this up?

oh, I edited this to say that we don’t have issues with dairy anymore in our house. Those subsided about a year after going gluten free, and I’ve been able to eat cheese without issue. I just want to make sure that I’m not screwing up somewhere.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The only cheese that has ever been in question has been blue cheese (based on the medium to grow mold).  I suppose cheeses that have added ingredients (cranberries or peppers) could be suspect.  

All the cheeses you mentioned are safe.  I eat tons of cheese sticks.  So handy to eat.  Like peeling a banana and my hands do not have to be washed because I never touch the cheese.  Perfect for on the go.  

I grate my own  cheese because my family does not like the cellulose added to keep it from sticking.  

I found this Jane Anderson article about cheese.  

https://www.verywellfit.com/does-cheese-contain-gluten-562461

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, cheese is gluten free generally. I think the spray on "cheese" and cheese spread may have gluten in them. The others are fine. So long as they don't say they contain wheat in the ingredients you should be fine. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There are a few fancy cheeses with beer- otherwise, cheese is gluten-free.  Read ingredients, of course.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
4 4

×