Jump to content
Frequently Asked Questions About Celiac Disease Read more... ×
  • Sign Up
2 2
RoseMG

Vodka and other liquors

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Hello everyone,

Recently diagnosed and wondering if liquors made from wheat (vodka, gin, etc.) bother you all. I don't have symptoms so no idea whether they are safe or not. I have been avoiding alcohol since my diagnosis. I also have a jar of vodka sauce labelled "gluten free" that I am hesitant to eat since the vodka was most likely wheat-based.

Thank you!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I pretty much do not drink as I have autoimmune gastritis now. 😥.  However, distilled alcohol is gluten free, while brewed (beer) is not.  As Rose stated, cross contamination could always occur especially if flavors are added.  I used to stick with potato vodka.  Sometimes piece of mind can be priceless.  I also like REAL gluten free beers and not “gluten removed”. beers.  

If that sauce is the Classico brand, for sure it is safe.  It is even marked gluten free on the jar.  

Consider subscribing to the Gluten Free WatchDog”.  Trisha is a dietitian and a celiac who is highly regarded in celiac circles. For a few dollars a month, you can keep on top of processed gluten-free foods and current food labeling issues.  She is the Consumer Reports for the gluten free community.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
2 2

×