Jump to content
Celiac Disease FAQ | This site uses cookies GDPR notice. Read more... ×
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I was diagnosed celiac disease over 15 years ago and have always adhered to a strict gluten-free diet. I have never had a problem with alcohol and always am sure to drink vodkas that are at least 4 x’s distilled. With that said, I was at a club and ordered a top shelf vodka with tonic, (over 4 x’s  distilled). Within 15 minutes I knew I had been glutened. I later went on the website of the distillery and it identified the vodka as handcrafted.  

Is anyone aware of any handcrafted processing that would add gluten back into vodka, as is done with double malted scotch?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hopefully someone will respond to your question.  Maybe your Glass was dirty.  When bars are busy, glasses are not run through the dishwasher.  They are dunked in a anti-bacterial solution.  Possibly wiped with a contaminated bar towel.  Maybe your glass was compromised?  Just a thought.  

When the bar is busy, I ask for a paper or plastic cup because I was a bar maid back in my university days.   I saw it all. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm celiac to and have found most vodkas do contain gluten.but Smirnoff vodka 21.dosnt not contain gluten .hope this helps.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Tito's corn made vodka is gluten-free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
4 4

×