This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Help Celiac.com:
    eNewsletter
    Donate

itchy rash under breasts

homeschool mom

homeschool mom Rookie

Hi, I'm new here. I developed a rash under my breasts last summer. It's very itchy but I don't get bumps or fluid like other people mention. I have been eating a gluten free diet for 6 years, knowing I was gluten sensitive, but recently was diagnosed with celiac. I have two celiac genes, and my dad, sister and cousin are celiac. I have certainly had enough stressful events in my life for celiac to present so I am not surprised by the diagnosis. My tissue transglutaminase number was 141.7. The thing is, my family still eats gluten, so I have been suffering with the cross contamination, not realizing it. I will be getting my family tested and then getting all the gluten out of the house. We will all be going gluten-free, truly, and I hope this makes a difference.  I also have autoimmune thyroid disease and have been taking three drops Lugol's iodine most days to help with that. Now, after reading on this forum, I see there is a link between high iodine and this type of rash. So how do you get around needing iodine for the thyroid when you have this rash? I'm assuming I have dermititis herpetiformis although I have not been diagnosed officially. I guess I should stop taking iodine, and do you think I should go on a low-iodine diet for a while, too? I do eat fish a couple of times a week!  Any help you can give will be appreciated. 

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

cyclinglady Grand Master

Why are you taking iodine?