This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Had To Share - Baking Success!

Diosa

Diosa Apprentice

I am so stoked!! I was able to do some baking for Christmas this year. I was a big cookie baker and to me it just wasn't Christmas without a mountain of cookies made. I was able to do gluten-free/dairy-free gingerbread cookies with royal icing (No shapes, just round cookies) and chocolate chip cookies. :D I bought some of the Bette's Four flour blend and it was fantastic. I made my own flour mix as well, and that's been pretty good as well. I used cornstarch, tapioca, garfava and sorghum. (The flour also worked well for pancakes. :D )

I just wanted to share my excitement of being able to bake again. :D Now I'll have to try some bread

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Idahogirl Apprentice

Congratulations! It is so nice when something turns out well! Could you post your Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe? I tried some awhile back, and they didn't turn out all that great (and the $7 a bag mix doesn't work well with my budget!)

Thanks!

Lisa

Diosa Apprentice

I honestly didn't do anything special, except used lactose-free margarine (Fleischmenns) and used dairy-free semi-sweet morsels (ghiradeli's are wonderful for this). I added a bit more flour and baking powder so the cookies would rise. The recipe I used was Nestle's Tollhouse cookie recipe.

2 1/4 cups gluten-free flour (add more if the dough is a bit runny)

1 Tbsp baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup (2 sticks, 1/2 pound) butter, softened

3/4 cup granulated [white] sugar

3/4 cup packed brown sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract