• Join Our Community!

Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

stef_the_kicking_cuty

My Mother Has Had Positive Bloodtest

Rate this topic

Hi guys,

this is so cool. When I found out I had celiac, I also talked with my in-laws about it. Especially with my mother-in-law. And I told them, that celiac is genetic and that I believe, I have it from my mothers side and that my mother has it from her mother. I think so, because my grandma had a lot of celiac symptoms and she also had diabetes and died of more than one form of cancer. My mother also always had some bowel issues. Not severe, but they were there. Plus she had breast cancer. But my mother-in-law said, that I can't say that, because I'm not a doctor and this would only be a lot of if's and but's and blablabla. You know how it goes. She never really believed me (even though I learnt medicine for 14 months)... But now here's the cool thing:

My mother visited me in the states last year in September for one complete month as intro into her retirement. And I talked to her and we both agreed, that my dad doesn't fit into this "celiac picture" at all. So I asked her, if she doesn't want to make the glutenfree diet with me for one month and see how she feels. We had a good time and sticked to the glutenfree diet very strict. However there was one incident, that worried me a little bit. We were invited at a family party from my in-laws and I had the feeling, everybody just kind of laughed behind my back, because we did that. I told my parents-in-law about our glutenfree diet we do together and my mother-in-law said, my mother should just enjoy herself and not worry about gluten :blink: . Because, just because I have it doesn't mean, my mother has it, too, in her opinion. But I followed my mother like a shadow and nobody could slip her anything...