Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Recommended Posts

I'm kind of new. I've been reading a great deal on this site.

I'm seeing that many have posted about Rice Dream not being gluten free.

My carton of organic Rice Dream rice milk and the web site both say that it IS gluten free.

I believe they've concluded that gluten free would be good for business.

Just thought I'd share.


4/30/2008 Went Gluten Free

Gluten Sensitivity Gene Test

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 1 0202

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 2 0301

Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 2,3 (Subtype 2,7)

3/19/2009 11 Months Gluten Free:Gluten Sensitivity Stool Test

Fecal Anti-gliadin IgA 21 Units (Normal Range <10 Units)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I'm kind of new. I've been reading a great deal on this site.

I'm seeing that many have posted about Rice Dream not being gluten free.

My carton of organic Rice Dream rice milk and the web site both say that it IS gluten free.

I believe they've concluded that gluten free would be good for business.

Just thought I'd share.

Welcome to the boards.

Rice Dream uses a barley enzyme in their product. Because barley is not considered an allergan by the powers that be and the barley is in a small amount they can legally call this not gluten free item gluten free. Pacific makes a good rice milk and if you live in an area with a Wegmans they have recently come out with a truely gluten free rice milk also.


Courage does not always roar, sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying

"I will try again tommorrow" (Mary Anne Radmacher)

Diagnosed by Allergist with elimination diet and diagnosis confirmed by GI in 2002

Misdiagnoses for 15 years were IBS-D, ataxia, migraines, anxiety, depression, fibromyalgia, parathesias, arthritis, livedo reticularis, hairloss, premature menopause, osteoporosis, kidney damage, diverticulosis, prediabetes and ulcers, dermatitis herpeformis

All bold resoved or went into remission in time with proper diagnosis of Celiac November 2002

 Gene Test Aug 2007

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 1 0303

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 2 0303

Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 3,3 (Subtype 9,9)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

B Complex vitamins WEGMANS Brand got me the other day. I returned them, of course, but it was close.

The ones I have to stay on my toes about: "Mixed greens" in vitamins that end up including barley grass. How could they possibly avoid getting any seed or other gluten containing material in the vitamins when massed produced? I would not touch anything made with barley or wheat grass with a ten foot pole! Seriously why go where you don't need to and risk getting glutened!?!

This reminds me to finish that thought..B COMPLEX VITAMIN SUPPLEMENTS AT WEGMANS says gluten-free, and technically they are allowed to sell it as such, but it does contain barley grass, use caution with all vitamins, even of they say gluten free!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I suppose this is a situation where I can say luckily I cannot handle grains. I live in an area where we have a walmart, martins and...... :huh:

hah

I will however look into finding a site that I can order one of your suggested rice milks. Orrrrr I'll try that recipe I found to make my own.

I appreciate the information!


4/30/2008 Went Gluten Free

Gluten Sensitivity Gene Test

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 1 0202

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 2 0301

Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 2,3 (Subtype 2,7)

3/19/2009 11 Months Gluten Free:Gluten Sensitivity Stool Test

Fecal Anti-gliadin IgA 21 Units (Normal Range <10 Units)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I think Rice Dream is "tricky". Yes, it does say its got gluten right on the carton but still...its not somewhere you'd normally look. I think unless they've done their research beforehand a lot of people have probably been glutened by Rice Dream at some point. I was.

Huh? I'm confused now. I'm just been diagnosed & so have been reading lots of posts to learn more. Never heard of 'Rice Dream' before so googled it to see what it was. Their site goes on about how healthy & safe their products are & it also gives a list of what products are gluten free on this page:

http://www.tastethedream.com/health/glutenfree.php

Has something changed? Did they include gluten before but don't now? Or what? Not that I'm going out to buy it - I prefer to make my own foods but if Rice Dream contains gluten & they say it doesn't on their website, isn't that false advertising?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oops, :huh: I posted my questions about Rice Dream after I read posts on the 1st page. But since I've read to the end, I understand now why they labelled it gluten-free. So how do we really know if something really is safe or not? Does it mean malt-containing products (if no gluten or wheat in them) can be labelled gluten-free then?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
twizzlers, honey glazed ham and an apple cider that used a certain spice that they only informed me of after i was sick and finally called the company....also, certain brands of swedish fish have wheat in them....the orignial brand doesn't luckily.

The ham! Cripes now I know why I might have been a little off last week.


~Barb

Gluten Free October 18, 2007

YIPPEE for Gluten free

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

the one that gets me is the regular flavor of Doritos. All the other flavors are gluten free - but not the original nacho flavor. even "spicy nacho" is gluten-free. Doritos are my one pregnancy craving, so if my husband goes out to get some for me, i have to make sure to tell him several times "NOT the original nacho flavor." Also, i saw that Pringles have wheat in them?? or am i mistaken? i thought i read that the other day. thought that was weird.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Absolutely no reason I can think of why Soy Sauce should have wheat as the second ingredient (its not a big deal, I buy the wheat free stuff)...

Grrrrrrrrrrr......

I read that they use it to help it pour more freely. There's a type of soy sauce called tamari which should not have any wheat, although I've seen some that have barley.

The one that got me was Haribo gummibears and other candies. I wrote to the company and they said that all their products contain glucose syrup made from wheat and corn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest lorlyn

Hey Parla,

Just wanted to say hello and welcome to the forum.
:)

,

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Tricky Gluten-y foods:

Imitation crab (it's in the stuff that binds it together) Must trust that restaurants use real when asking

Some Chicken (injected with chicken broth for flavor)

Beans (in Mexico and some Mexican restaurants, they use flour to thicken the beans)

cornbread

Root Beer (some brands)

au jus

Lindt chocolate and some others like Godiva

whiskey (except JDaniels)

bourbon

gin

some vodkas

wine coolers

some shredded cheese (anti-caking agent)

some dried fruit (anti-caking agent)

some vanilla extract (some people disagree, i think)

some pickles

some seasoned vegetables at restaurants

sauteed mushrooms at restaurants (some use soy sauce)

some makeup, shampoo, soap, etc.

lots of vegetarian fake-meat products

some people/restaurants keep a piece of bread in their sugar container to keep it from clumping

I'm not sure, but I thought anything cooked with Mesquite was a no-no.

btw

RUNNING RABBIT LICORICE and Candy Tree ORganic is Gluten Free

I have info. stating: "Most Haribo products ARE gluten free. The following products are NOT gluten-free:

Black licorice wheels, red licorice wheels, sour s'ghetti, fruity pasta, pico-balla, allsorts and pontefract cakes."


Gluten Free since November 2005

.

"If you want breakfast in bed, sleep in the kitchen.." ---Ed Polish

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Any shiny chocolates with food glaze at Trader Joe's have gluten (chocolate covered nuts and dried fruits). I got way sick from them once and called the company. It isn't on the label. I asked an employee to find out more about it but he never did. The chocolate covered orange and raspberry sticks have no glaze and are fine.

Cadbury Easter eggs have gluten--so sad...


diagnosed with celiac disease in 2002--all test numbers off the charts

dairy free since 2000, soy free since 2007

other food intolerances: citrus, sesame, potatoes, corn, coffee

fibromyalgia, osteoporosis

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

which brand? and this thread is 5 years old, BTW

 

I had a handful of dry roasted nuts today and definitely had a gluten reaction.


"Life is not the way it's supposed to be. It's the way it is. The way we cope with it makes the difference." Virginia Satir

"The strongest of all warriors are these two - time and patience." Leo Tolstoy

"If you want to lift yourself up, lift up someone else" Booker T. Washington

“If idiots could fly, the sky would be like an airport.”― Laura Davenport 

"Do or do not. There is no try. "-  Yoda.

"LTES"  Gem 2014

 

Misdiagnosed for 25+ years; Finally Diagnosed with Celiac  11/01/10.  Double DQ2 genes. This thing tried to kill me. I view Celiac as a fire breathing dragon --and I have run my sword right through his throat.
I. Win. bliss-smiley-emoticon.gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


  • Celiac.com Sponsors (A19):


  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      92,021
    • Most Online
      6,255

    Newest Member
    MJ Crowley
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      115,632
    • Total Posts
      969,411

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):


  • Who's Online (See full list)


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):


  • Blog Entries