Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

DragonQueen

New Coke Flavor!

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

There is a new cherry and vanillia flavored coke out. It looks great. Since all other cokes are ok, does anyone know if this one is okay???

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Coke has gluten in it, they can say gluten free if the % is low enough. I called them and that is what they told me.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just found this in one of the emails that I recieved a long time ago......maybe you can contact them and see if the new flavor is gluten-free

"We are able to confirm that Coca-Cola classic, caffeine free Coca-Cola classic,

Coca-Cola C2, Diet Coke, Diet Coke with Lemon, Diet Coke with Lime, caffeine

free Diet Coke, Sprite, Sprite ReMix Berryclear, Diet Sprite Zero, vanilla Coke,

diet vanilla Coke, cherry Coke, Fresca, and our 100% juice products (without

added ingredients) are gluten free.

Additionally, we can tell you that all of our other products meet Codex's

definition of gluten-free, which is currently less than 200 ppm (parts per

million) (0.02%) gluten. Codex is in the process of reviewing this standard and

we are monitoring the progress closely. At this time the U.S. Food and Drug

Administration does not have a regulatory definition of gluten-free.

We can assure you that the exact amount of gluten in these products is very low

- perhaps even zero. Some minor ingredients in these products are manufactured

from plants that gluten-sensitive people could react to, so we are unable to

state categorically that they are totally gluten-free even though they may have

undetectable levels of gluten in them. The Codex guideline provides a very low

threshold for gluten content. However, extremely gluten-sensitive individuals

should discuss consumption of these products with their health care provider.

We hope that this information is helpful. Should you have additional questions

or comments, please visit our website again.

Gisele

Industry and Consumer Affairs

The Coca-Cola Company "

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I just found this in one of the emails that I recieved a long time ago......maybe you can contact them and see if the new flavor is gluten-free

"We are able to confirm that Coca-Cola classic, caffeine free Coca-Cola classic,

Coca-Cola C2, Diet Coke, Diet Coke with Lemon, Diet Coke with Lime, caffeine

free Diet Coke, Sprite, Sprite ReMix Berryclear, Diet Sprite Zero, vanilla Coke,

diet vanilla Coke, cherry Coke, Fresca, and our 100% juice products (without

added ingredients) are gluten free.

Additionally, we can tell you that all of our other products meet Codex's

definition of gluten-free, which is currently less than 200 ppm (parts per

million) (0.02%) gluten. Codex is in the process of reviewing this standard and

we are monitoring the progress closely. At this time the U.S. Food and Drug

Administration does not have a regulatory definition of gluten-free.

We can assure you that the exact amount of gluten in these products is very low

- perhaps even zero. Some minor ingredients in these products are manufactured

from plants that gluten-sensitive people could react to, so we are unable to

state categorically that they are totally gluten-free even though they may have

undetectable levels of gluten in them. The Codex guideline provides a very low

threshold for gluten content. However, extremely gluten-sensitive individuals

should discuss consumption of these products with their health care provider.

We hope that this information is helpful. Should you have additional questions

or comments, please visit our website again.

Gisele

Industry and Consumer Affairs

The Coca-Cola Company "

That is the gluten free coke list I have too. I've always had the cherry coke or regular and haven't had a problem. I was just wondering if anyone has confirmed the new black cherry vanillia coke. (it's two flavors in one)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Coca Cola finally responded to my email. They informed they would have to "research" my question and get back to me. It seems like they have not tested it yet to see if it contains gluten :(

Hez

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

that's weird, because a lot of people that i know use sprite when they aren't feeling well due to gluten.....i've never heard that coke wasn't gluten free before, i find this very strange...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As you saw in the list, there are certain ones that Coke will "guarantee" as gluten-free. Coke used to say ALL of their drinks were gluten-free but then changed their tune. I suspect (as do many others) that all their drinks are still gluten-free, but they won't "guarantee" the ones with ingredients they don't have as much control over because a lawyer told them not to.

I am NOT telling anybody to drink any drinks they won't say are gluten-free, but you'll note they say that the gluten content might even be zero. It probably is.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ya it does seem strange coke does have gluten in it.

darn, I was hoping the new cokes would be ok. I'll just have to wait until they clarify it. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest gfinnebraska

I tried the new Diet Cherry Vanilla Coke with no issues. I have never had an issue with any Coke product. Enjoy!! :) It was yummy!!!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I love it! I brought a whole case of it about two weeks back or so. You're kidding---no. Sorry if it has gluten in it. I'm not giving up cokes. Anyway, I've had no problems with any Coca-Cola brand drinks! I've hated the fear of the caramel coloring in the cokes having gluten in them.

Additionally, we can tell you that all of our other products meet Codex's

definition of gluten-free, which is currently less than 200 ppm (parts per

million) (0.02%) gluten. Codex is in the process of reviewing this standard and

we are monitoring the progress closely. At this time the U.S. Food and Drug

Administration does not have a regulatory definition of gluten-free.

I really don't like "Codex's definition of gluten-free". Even though it may contain 0.02% of gluten, there's still gluten in it. Oh well. It's fustrating enough.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
There is a new cherry and vanillia flavored coke out. It looks great. Since all other cokes are ok, does anyone know if this one is okay???

none are they all have carmel color in them

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
none are they all have carmel color in them
Well, if the Caramel color is made in the United States, then, it is probably gluten-free. I remember reading something about it where they use corn instead of wheat. But, you never know.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Well, if the Caramel color is made in the United States, then, it is probably gluten-free. I remember reading something about it where they use corn instead of wheat.

there not made w/ weat or corn there made w/ barley i think youre thinking of dextrose

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Caramel color can contain gluten, but most often does not. In Coke products, it does not.

Dextrose is sugar, so it is never gluten-containing. You might be confusing it with dextrin, which can be made of corn or wheat.

I really don't like "Codex's definition of gluten-free". Even though it may contain 0.02% of gluten, there's still gluten in it. Oh well. It's fustrating enough.

Well, CODEX is what Europe goes by and they're miles ahead of us. Since the Europeans are not all experiencing continuing symptoms or villous atrophy on their standard, I think it's safe. And after all, we ALL get some miniscule bit of gluten. If you eat any food that's processed, there's going to be a tiny bit--just so little that it doesn't matter... like the CODEX standard.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Gah...just nevermind...

me 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i'd like to try the blackcherry coke or whatever it is called, I havent seen it yet tho haha. (i cant drink the vanilla coke, it makes me sick!)

But none of the other coke products has bothered me, so whatever, I keep drinking them. Without it, there just wouldnt be rye n' coke :P

~lisa~

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...