Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter
Jess27489

Understanding labels - gluten free cooking

Rate this topic

Hi, I'm new to gluten free baking/cooking. 

Should I only trust products that say 'gluten free' on the pack?
The recipe I'm using calls for tomato paste. On the pack, the ingredients list doesn't list gluten or any gluten product (just italian tomatoes & salt) but the pack doesn't say 'gluten free'.
Can i trust this product? Or should i only be using products that specifically say 'gluten free'.

Also a marshmallow pack say that glutens 'not detected' on the nutrition table but doesn't specifically say 'gluten free' on the packaging. Is it safe to use?

Can I use these product?

I'm not gluten free myself but I will be cooking for other people who are and want to make sure I'm using safe ingredients. 

Thanks for your help. 

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

You can look in the ingredients to see if it contains any grains that contain gluten. If it has wheat in it, in the US, it will say after the ingredients "contains wheat". This means they didn't intentionally put wheat it it but it could be cross contaminated

If it is labelled "gluten free" that means it gets tested some to see if it contains gluten, and the manufacture takes steps to reduce accidental cross contamination.

The tomato paste and marshmallows are fine.  With only one or two ingredients it is not likely that they are cross contaminated. Other food products might be cross contaminated. You can post the brand name and the specific product so that we can give more information.

Wheat sensitive. Probably Celiac disease but it could be an allergic response. I get very strong anxiety and then autistic symptoms whenever I eat wheat. It is probably a form of encephalitis (swelling in the brain due to wheat) but I am not sure.  Things that I avoid: All grain, alcohol, eggs, dairy, processed food.