This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Why Does The Dang Bread Fall After Coming Out Of Oven?

jenvan

jenvan Collaborator

Ah, so frustrated! I was a great baker pre gluten-free...Now, not too great on yeast breads etc. My dad is such a sweetie :) Great cook, trying to work out some new recipes on some of our old favs. He figured out gluten-free sweet rolls for Christmas and they were great. Now we are working on Dill Bread...or even a basic yeast bread recipe which we could convert to Dill. His problem and mine when baking is the same... The dough rises, but then post baking, falls. Why does that happen? He has been using Authentics flour mix but I have tried mixing my own...no difference. Anyone have any ideas? I would like to take pride in baked breads again ! Thanks, ya'll rock :)

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

jerseyangel Proficient

Jen--a thought--would it help to bake at a lower temp. for a longer time? I know what you mean about being a good baker before gluten-free. Over the holidays, I felt like I had to learn all over again. Your Dad sounds great :)

hez Enthusiast

Is that a sign that the bread rose too quickly leaving large air pockets?

Hez (who is not a good gluten-free baker, had lots of bad luck)

kabowman Explorer

I remember my pre-gluten free baking bread - if it was too moist, it would fall in the center. I know my glutne free breads feel very dry when I mix it up but I use the candidia mix so no yeast and so it rises while cooking, not before.

mommida Enthusiast