• Join Our Community!

Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

Guest Zmom

Gluten And Paper Towels/plates

Rate this topic

Guest Zmom

I was totally shocked today when My son's Enterolab results were higher than last year. His diarrhea has been gone for many months.

Talked to a nurse at his Dr.s office who said another gluten-free patient told her paper towels and plates are loaded with gluten. This person's baby only improved when those products were also eliminated. All my son's foods are gluten -free and I pack his pre-school food.He has seperate pots/pans. I dry his dishes sometimes with paper towels and drain fat from burgers on them. Sometimes he grabs a paper towel for his gluten-free muffins... So this makes sense. Has anyone else heard of this? Going to call manufacturers tommorrow.

I'm no expert, but that doesn't sound right to me..since going gluten-free I've been using tons of paper plates and towels, always washing my hands

Guest Zmom

Called Brawney wheat/gluten is not used in the paper towels but the glue on the roll has gluten in it and would effect the last paper towel and maybe absorb into a few above it since the glue is warm/wet when attatched to the roll and paper towels. As for the plates a couple of companies stated gluten/wheat etc. are not added to their products but since some of the materials and coatings are made in other countries they cannot be sure if cross cantamination has occured. Seventh Generation paper/ cleaning products are gluten free Except for their maxi/thin pads which have wheat in the absorbancy fibers.(wheat was listed on the label) all the other products were verified gluten-free by the rep. over the phone.

that's crazy! we use paper towels and paper plates, etc. all the time because we don't have a dishwasher right now and it's easier.....hmmm.....I will have to check mine out!