Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

xcraigx

Bleu Cheese Unsafe

Recommended Posts

One week into my gluten-free diet, still a long way to go with regards to learning the ropes. Is it true that bleu cheese is not safe for a gluten free diet? Is it all bleu cheese or certain brands etc? I'm actually most concerned with the dressings/sauces that I'm obsessed with for buffalo wings etc. Thanks in advance!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not all bleu cheeses are made with bread mediums -- some are made with separate mold mediums.

Even if the bleu cheese is made with a bread medium, the chance of you getting "glutened" is pretty small...

I eat bleu cheese all the time -- Gluten Free Living (a gluten-free magazine) just did a big article about this topic -- it will end up being a personal choice, but if you can handle dairy, you should be able to tolerate bleu cheese (always read the label though..)

Bronco

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is NOT true that all blue cheeses have gluten -- in fact it's debatable as to whether any have any measureable gluten, even the ones started on bread. I won't get into that, though.

Many blue cheeses are now started on an artificial medium, not bread. I know that Boar's Head says its blue cheese is gluten-free. Marie's blue cheese dressing is gluten-free. I think Marzetti's is but you should call to make sure. Call manufacturers and ask.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A little off-topic, but just to warn you -- check those buffalo wings carefully if you aren't making them yourself. Even if they aren't noticeably breaded, alot of places dredge them in flour, or use a sauce that has gluten. Good luck!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have been looking fora blue cheese and all of the ones I have picked up say wheat on them. So just read the labels carefully!

That's strange, where I live (Virginia) I've never seen a blue cheese that specifically lists gluten, and that's in more than four years. I've had a copule of companies tell me that the cheese could have gluten but never seen it listed. Do you remember any brands that actually list wheat or gluten?

check those buffalo wings carefully if you aren't making them yourself. Even if they aren't noticeably breaded, alot of places dredge them in flour, or use a sauce that has gluten.

This is really good advice for any food at all. I never, ever eat food I didn't fix without asking questions. There are indeed some wings that are so lightly floured it would be hard to tell. Commercial ones I have found that the companies say are gluten-free include Buffalo Wild Wings (though not the Thai or teriyaki flavors, and yes, the naked wings are done in a decicated fryer), Dominos (not the kickers, the naked wings), and Good Fellaz.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...