Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Guest Jaysonguy

Real People Cereal

Recommended Posts

Why, oh why, won't these people make a cereal gluten-free AND NOT PROCESS IT WITH PEANUTS!!!!???? My poor celiac son is anaphylactic to peanuts and the Envrokidz are all peanut contaminated. :(

Most gluten-free candy is peanut processed too. Sorry, just had to whine a minute. Valentines hit hard over here! And we are all "life-savered" out! It seems to be the only gluten-free/nut free item around! (Other than special order) :rolleyes:

I hear you! My son is anaphylatic to peanuts, and also allergic to tree nuts, milk, eggs, the list goes on. Finding candy is HARD!!

Beyond making your own! You can check:

http://www.allergygrocer.com

also

http://www.choclat.com/ (These people are great!!!! I happen to be lucky enough to live close by and can pick up stuff!)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I hear you! My son is anaphylatic to peanuts, and also allergic to tree nuts, milk, eggs, the list goes on. Finding candy is HARD!!

Beyond making your own! You can check:

http://www.allergygrocer.com

also

http://www.choclat.com/ (These people are great!!!! I happen to be lucky enough to live close by and can pick up stuff!)

Why not make your own? In the Betty Crocker Big Red cookbook, there is a caramels recipe there that calls for only 4 ingredients - sugar, corn syrup, butter, and cream

And oh my god are they good! And easy!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Woooo Hoooo!! Thanks for calling, I tried this AM before I left for school but they weren't open yet. Glad I got the info when I got home :) I can still have my sugary cereal ha

-Jessica :rolleyes:

VERFIED WITH KRAFT DIRECTLY AS OF THIS POST NORMAL COCOA AND FURITY PEBBLES ARE STILL GLUTEN FREE NO CHANGE HAS BEEN MADE.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks folks for finding this out. My 13 year old son had read to me many times the ingredients and told me I can eat them but I really didn't pay any attention. As a cereal lover, I can now add them to my grocery list.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Why not make your own? In the Betty Crocker Big Red cookbook, there is a caramels recipe there that calls for only 4 ingredients - sugar, corn syrup, butter, and cream

And oh my god are they good! And easy!

but they have dairy. :-(

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Back to an earlier post -- I DO remember the picture of him with the bag of cereal! Will definitely have to plan a trip to Wild Oats -- as I said, Tymber is a child with impeccable taste! :lol:

We get them at Kroger (normal food store), but they are actaully cheaper at Wild Oats... just dont get out there much.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think it's great that GM is putting out a 'mainstream' gluten-free cereal!

And I think it's funny that I read the ingredients, saw "high fructose corn syrup, red 40, and blue 1" and decided I'd not buy them.

And that made me realize that companies supplying gluten-free foods have a *tough* time because the gluten-free niche is split into those who are looking for fairly 'standard american food-stuffs' and the food-hippies. It's not as bad with non-gluten-free specialty foods, because the populations are so large that splitting the market still leaves two large populations, but our market certainly isn't that big yet.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Safeway's version of Corn Pops is gluten free. I like Cocoa Pebbles, Barbara's Corn Flakes, and Rice Crunch 'ems, too. It's better to have a little variety, the same cereal everyday can get so tiring!

Lisa

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Safeway's version of Corn Pops is gluten free.

The Corn Pops in my Safeway have wheat in them. I checked hopefully after people mentioned other generics being gluten-free. It's possible these were part of the recent switch along with Kellog's and Kroger. Be careful and read labels!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Anyone had any experience with Kellogg's Rice Krispies? I've seen several gluten-free recipes using them but the box says they contain malt flavoring?

One day Gluten-Free - and a long way to go. :(

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Anyone had any experience with Kellogg's Rice Krispies? I've seen several gluten-free recipes using them but the box says they contain malt flavoring?

One day Gluten-Free - and a long way to go. :(

Kellogg's Rice Krispies are NOT gluten-free . Sorry. :(

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Erewhon Crispy Brown Rice tastes the same as Rice Krispies and makes wonderful rice cripsy treats (I am munching one happily now and just had to post!).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Word on the street is the new boxes of Cocoa Puffs and Trix are gluten free....but you have to read the box carefully to make sure you have the newer version

WOW! Where did you hear this? Any dates?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm a member of the SillyYaks yahoo group , there were a ton of email's sent out about it, of course like a dummy i deleted them. I'm sure there are some members of that group in here that might have the emails. I believe we're waiting from a response from general mills but the new cocoa puff and trix boxes do not list wheat starch as an ingrediant.

let's just keep our fingers crossed that the big time companies are finally hooking us up....i'll try to keep y'all posted about this when i hear any new info

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I'm a member of the SillyYaks yahoo group , there were a ton of email's sent out about it, of course like a dummy i deleted them. I'm sure there are some members of that group in here that might have the emails. I believe we're waiting from a response from general mills but the new cocoa puff and trix boxes do not list wheat starch as an ingrediant.

let's just keep our fingers crossed that the big time companies are finally hooking us up....i'll try to keep y'all posted about this when i hear any new info

Well the ingredents on tis page:

http://www.generalmills.com/corporate/bran....aspx?catID=77#

List Flour in trix, so either that old info, or Trix at least is not gluten-free.

And on this page

http://www.generalmills.com/corporate/bran....aspx?catID=50#

Coca pufs list oats.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here are some of the e-mails.....aparently General Mills has stated yes, these are gluten free

Actually, I have called General Mills to inquire about the gluten-free status

of Cocoa Puffs...and I did this before making the initial posting.

I have been waiting to have a box of Trix that appears to be gluten-free on

hand before I call General Mills, so that I can verify the correct bar

code, expiry date, etc., as they have needed this information when I

contacted them about the Islandberry Crunch and Cocoa Puffs cereals.

C

I haven't called but I have the cocoa puffs here in the house and they are as gluten-free as any other gluten-free thing we have on our shelf. The website still has the old ingredients list. I'm assuming that this is because some of the old packages are still on the shelf? My son has been eating them since Saturday and has had absolutely no reaction. Well, except that sugar high. ;-)

God Bless.

I did, Laura, contact General Mills. I made sure before I posted it to the board. I have

not, though, phoned about Trix because I don't have a box with the

correct bar code, expiry date, etc.

You just have to check each box by reading the ingredients, just to

make sure.

Thank you for contacting General Mills regarding gluten in our our cereal.

It is our goal to help our consumers determine whether or not they can include our products in their diet. To accurately accomplish this, we believe it is best to refer to the specific ingredients listed on each product package.

However, we do understand that ingredients can be confusing, so we want to assure you if the ingredient label does not list wheat, barley, rye, oats or gluten containing ingredients sourced from these grains, then the product would be gluten-free. Sources of gluten are listed on the label even if the source of gluten is part of another ingredient (such as flavoring or spice). Because ingredients may vary from one package to another due to product reformulation, you should use the product’s ingredient label to provide you with current and accurate information.

Additional information regarding gluten may be obtained by contacting your health care professional or:

Celiac Sprue Association/United States of America, Inc.

PO Box 31700

Omaha, NE 68131-0700

402-558-0600

Or toll free: 877-CSA-4-CSA (877-272-4272)

www.csaceliacs.org

We hope this information is helpful.

Sincerely,

Jenny Path

General Mills

Consumer Services

so basically cocoa puffs and trix are gluten free and you have to be VERY careful and read the box!!!!!!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...