Jump to content
  • Sign Up
Moongirl

Lindt Chocolate

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I know, that the milk chocolate and the milk chocolate with whole hazelnuts from Lindt are glutenfree. I am very sensitive to gluten and usually know it right away. Even more so now, that I'm pregnant. I never had a reaction to those two. Not in the States and not in Germany. I don't know about their other stuff though. And I don't like dark chocolate, so I can't tell you guys anything about that one either. Apparently there are a lot of people on here, that like dark chocolate. Wow! I never would have figured... :P

Hugs, Stef

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know, that the milk chocolate and the milk chocolate with whole hazelnuts from Lindt are glutenfree. I am very sensitive to gluten and usually know it right away. Even more so now, that I'm pregnant. I never had a reaction to those two. Not in the States and not in Germany. I don't know about their other stuff though. And I don't like dark chocolate, so I can't tell you guys anything about that one either. Apparently there are a lot of people on here, that like dark chocolate. Wow! I never would have figured... :P

Hugs, Stef

I know this is an old thread and I'm not new to celiac, I am new to this forum and site. In case anyone is still unsure, I found this about Lindt chocolates from their site:

" Is there gluten or barley malt in Lindt chocolate?

Unfortunately, at this time we cannot guarantee that Lindt chocolate is gluten free. Our white and extra dark (70% cocoa and above) chocolate products by nature do not contain barley malt. However, because they run on the same production lines as other products there is a chance of cross contamination. Lindt is aware of the growing prevalence of Celiac's Disease and other conditions. We are sensitive to the fact that these large groups of consumers are unable to enjoy our chocolate at this time. We hope in the future to be able to accommodate the needs of all our consumers and offer options to satisfy varying dietary requirements. "

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've found that the Choceur brand at Aldi's is pretty good. I have not had any reaction to the dark chocolate at all (and I'm pretty sensitive). There is no warning about wheat on the allergen list and I've noticed most of the Aldi foods do list wheat if there is possibility of cross contamination.

I don't eat milk chocolate (too much sugar) so I haven't tried that one. But the dark chocolates are awesome! I also bought some of their unsweetened baking chocolate chips. I haven't tried them yet, but there's only one ingredient listed.

They do make some chocolate bars that the label says there may be cross contaimination with wheat etc. so read carefully. I think they must have a few different facilities.

I haven't had any Lindt since I went gluten free and learned they use barley as a sweetener. Shame, I like Lindt.

Beware any sugar free chocolates that are touting to be gluten free but are made with maltodextrin from wheat! I had a small piece, because the company swore up down left right and centre that it won't have an effect on Celiacs. pffffffffffffffft. I was writhing in pain in less than an hour! Not nice.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I eat Lindt dark and have never had a CC reaction. Is it extreme to avoid things like that? I never really think about production lines etc.
When companies say that, the odds are low and they're just covering their a$$es right? Or should I really be only consuming things made in gluten free environments?! :o

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The "Made in the same facility" I think is just fine.  "Made on the same line" is worth more consideration.

Colleen

Mmm. Thanks. Surely they at least wash it down or something... But I might steer clear from now on.
Seem to get insomnia from dark chocolate, too. Not coffee. But even 2 squares of dark chocolate rather than 1 and sleep goes out the window. Useful when it needs to! But a bummer other times because it's sooooo tasty :) .

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...