This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Feeling Sorry For Myself...

Basha

Basha Newbie

I have been recently diagnosised.

I have been managing very well until last night. I am a teacher and this week we have Teacher's Convention where we take classes and learn new things. I get to go into the city, have fun, learn and enjoy myself.

I have managed well with staff meetings et al, but last night, I was informed that we were going out for lunch (to a restaurant I do not know, and haven't researched). In the past, this would not have presented a problem, as I would say, "Great, let's go!!" But last night, I had a "WAHHHHH.... Oh crap!..... and why me?" :( moment because of my need to be gluten-free. Tears were rolling down my face, because of my frustration and self pity session.

Here I am wanting to be apart of the group and to interact with my friends and staff, but because I don't know the restaurant and the possibilities (Greek food), all these emotions piled on (fear, worry, sadness etc.).

I know I am in a better place (I feel better), but it was a deep realization that my life is forever altered and things will not be so easy anymore.

Thanks for letting me rant and share... Right now, I am off to yoga, but will sign in later tonight to see what all of you have to say. I know all of you have been there, or are still experiencing this, so thanks for your ears/eyes! Thanks for being here! :)

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Canadian Karen Community Regular

Hi Basha! Nice to see another fellow Canadian!