This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

First Attempt At gluten-free Baking...

penguin

penguin Community Regular

Let me preface this by saying that I am an excellent baker, fabulous. I was looking into pastry programs at culinary schools, I even applied to one. Everyone raves about my cooking, and especially about my baking.

I can say this in all honesty, and without modesty, because I did all of this fabulous gourmet cooking with wheat flour. <_<

I made my first attempt at true gluten free baking this evening, with a simple banana bread. I figured my mourning period over wheat was about over and I had some bananas sorely in need of bread making, and I hate wasting food.

So I found a gluten-free BB recipe on the celiac site and decided to try it, I used Bob's Red Mill flour blend or whatever it is.

Was it a failure? No. It rose beautifully, is nice and springy, and is a perfect golden brown.

It just doesn't really taste like anything, and my husband spit it out because the texture and aftertaste were wierd. I just don't know if I can emotionally handle gluten free baking, but I can't make wheat stuff, just deglutening my kitchen and walking down the bread aisle at HEB made me sick! :blink:

It's just that baking is my talent, my calling, my true love. Even if I suck at everything else, baking is what I knew I could do better than pretty much everyone I knew.

The bread isn't bad, really, but it's not my bread. :(

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Diosa Apprentice