Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

Kiki

Quick Question....

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I found this amazing cake its a seven layer loaf cake with chocolate and all.. yumm yummm! It is made with partially hydrogenated cottonseed oil...and natural flavor emulsions.. eveything else in it is find but im not sure about those two things .. anybody know? I think i heard somthing about hydrogenated not being good for celiacs but i cant rmeber... Is it true?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The hydrogenated cottonseed oil is fine. And hydrogenated ingredients are fine... hydrogenated just means treated with or exposed to hydrogen--no gluten there.

Anything with natural flavors is questionable, so you have to check on the product.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hydrogenated oil, from any source, is not a source of gluten. However, hydrogenation changes the fat into trans fat, which has been shown by many studies to be detrimental to your health. The hydrogenation process hardens the oil, so it is used to make stick margerine and to give other foods a firmer texture.

Like MSG, it is something you may want to avoid, but it is gluten-free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...