This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Newbie Needs Advice Re: Diet!

Calicat

Calicat Newbie

Hi. I'm very new to the whole Celiac world, and I've got a million questions! I've been on a pretty restricted diet (non-starchy vegetables, fruits, tea with milk and sometimes sugar) for the better part of the last 7 years due to what I thought were multiple food allergies. Now I'm not so sure except to say soy & i are definitely not friends.

After starting treatment for Hashimoto's last year, I started feeling really well and added fish and yogurt/cheese. And then, here's the real kicker...wheat. (At the time I didn't know I had Celiac). Now my labs are off the charts, so I started the gluten free diet April 1st but I'm still having all sorts of reactions that I don't think are from gluten b/c I haven't eaten/used anything 'processed' without first calling the manufacturer.

I was wondering if anyone else had developed intolerances or allergies after having a celiac flare-up. Any guidelines as to what I should eliminate beyond all gluten and starch? I'm worried that if I just go back to fruits&veg that my vitamin and protein levels won't get replenished. Any advice?

I'm so sorry that this is soo long! :unsure: it's just such a relief to be able to ask someone who's got 1st hand experience, so thank you in advance for anything you can tell me!

Thanks again,

Cali

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

GreySaber Apprentice