Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Recommended Posts

I just started my gluten-free diet a few days ago and since I eat a lot of salads, I am wondering about gluten-free salad dressings. I love Ranch dressing but I wondered what others have found at the grocery store that is gluten-free.

Also, I know that Lays Classic Potato Chips and Fritos are okay but what about Cheetos. I love Cheetos.

Texas Celiac

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Welcome!

You will find a lot of good information and support here. I know that it is really hard when you are just starting out. You have to read every ingredient in everything you pick up. It will seem like shoping will take forever. It does get better as you become familier with what you can and can not have.

You don't say where you are from, but if you have a Wegeman's near you, you are really in luck. They label all all of their gluten free products with an orange circle with a G in the middle. They make an awesome ranch dressing.

Good luck :rolleyes:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Cheetos are gluten-free. Kraft has quite a few dressings that are gluten-free. Kraft is a company that will clearly list any gluten on the label. All you have to do is read. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Many companies have a list of gluten-free ingredients on their websites ... Frito-Lay is one of them, and as mentioned, Cheetos are gluten-free. The Frito-Lay website mentions the possiblity of cross-contamination, but so far, so good for me.

Carla

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am from Fort Worth, TX.

I have been reading the labels and I have a Kraft Fat Free dressing and Hidden Valley Ranch. MSG is one of the ingredients. I thought that was on the "forbidden list". Am I wrong? It also list modified food starch as an ingredient but does not say what kind. I thought Kraft was a company that listed what kind of modified food starch.

I guess I am feeling a little overwhelmed when I am limited to certain lunch/dinner choices and I can't find out what is safe. :angry:

Should I steer clear of artifial flavors and artifial coloring?

Thanks so much for any advice.

Texas Celiac

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I am from Fort Worth, TX.

I have been reading the labels and I have a Kraft Fat Free dressing and Hidden Valley Ranch. MSG is one of the ingredients. I thought that was on the "forbidden list". Am I wrong? It also list modified food starch as an ingredient but does not say what kind. I thought Kraft was a company that listed what kind of modified food starch.

I guess I am feeling a little overwhelmed when I am limited to certain lunch/dinner choices and I can't find out what is safe. :angry:

Should I steer clear of artifial flavors and artifial coloring?

Thanks so much for any advice.

Texas Celiac

Hi Texas--MSG does not contain gluten..Some people have reactions to it, and it's not really good for anybody IMO, but from a strictly gluten standpoint, it's fine. Kraft will list any gluten--if it states "modified food starch" and nothing else after it, it's safe. * If* it had gluten it would say "modified food starch (wheat). It does seem overwhelming at first, but I promise it gets easier! Kraft, Unilever, Con Agra, Nestle, Hershey, Nabisco will all clearly list any gluten on the labels. When in doubt, always call the manufacturer to be sure. You can do searches here, or go through old posts in the Foods & Product Forum for lots of information.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The Kraft will list the wheat if it has any, like Patti said, but does anyone know about the Hidden Valley? I have been avoiding it myself because of the modified food starch.

I'm also interested in hearing the answer from those of you with more experience on her question about artificial flavors and colors, but even more so for natural flavors.

Carla

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Carla-- I always call to check on "natural flavor" when considering a product for the first time. That is an ingredient that could contain gluten. Sorry, I don't have any knowledge of Hidden Valley.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

check the post I put up about kens dressings, theres a lot of gluten-free ones

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Several months ago I went to the Hidden Valley website and they stated that the dressing is not gluten-free. I am not sure why this is so but it is :( Welcome to the board :)

Hez

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...