Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I was looking for some gluten-free soups that I could get at a normal store and read that Progresso has a lot of gluten-free soups. Reading the ingredients I noticed that the ones that seem to be gluten-free have "datem". What is datem? I looked it up on Wikipedia and it says that it has something to do with "building a strong gluten network". Does that mean that it contains gluten? I hope you can help me.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Datem is "Diacetyl tartaric acid esters of monoglycerides" and seems to be used as an emusifier.

Should be gluten-free.

And I think that with the new labeling law, if it was derived from wheat it would be listed as "datem (wheat)", right?

Good Luck,

Pam

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you. Yea, I called the FDA which told me to call Progresso and they said that Datem is gluten-free and if it wasn't they would mention it on the package.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...