Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I was wondering if someone could help me figure some things out. I am new and I am trying my hardest to educate myself.

Are these safe:

soybean oil

partially hydrogenated soybean

canola oil

Also is Kraft philadelphia plain whipped cream cheese safe?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I was wondering if someone could help me figure some things out. I am new and I am trying my hardest to educate myself.

Are these safe:

soybean oil

partially hydrogenated soybean

canola oil

Safe? if you mean gluten free, yes those are gluten-free. I suggest you print out this list:

http://www.celiac.com/st_prod.html?p_prodi...-28106095775.9b

And keep it with you while in the store it realy helps get you started. :)

Also is Kraft philadelphia plain whipped cream cheese safe?

Dunno for sure, but with Kraft products you just need look at the indgredinets, it will always mention wheat, barly, rye, malt or oats by name if there is any.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Safe? if you mean gluten free, yes those are gluten-free. I suggest you print out this list:

http://www.celiac.com/st_prod.html?p_prodi...-28106095775.9b

And keep it with you while in the store it realy helps get you started. :)

Dunno for sure, but with Kraft products you just need look at the indgredinets, it will always mention wheat, barly, rye, malt or oats by name if there is any.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the link! I just printed it out. I''m starting a folder of print outs to keep in my car.

Today I had an ensure drink(nutritional drink) and it said it is gluten free. But I had a reaction after I had it. I just noticed now that the ingredients include soy lecithin and soy protein isolate. So maybe I'm allergic to soy. I wonder....

Maybe I;ll drink another one tomorrow and see what happens.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Thanks for the link! I just printed it out. I''m starting a folder of print outs to keep in my car.

Today I had an ensure drink(nutritional drink) and it said it is gluten free. But I had a reaction after I had it. I just noticed now that the ingredients include soy lecithin and soy protein isolate. So maybe I'm allergic to soy. I wonder....

Maybe I;ll drink another one tomorrow and see what happens.

Also might have to watch out for dariy. The part of the body responislbe for digesting dairy is often damaged by celiac disease and you may need ot heal a bit before you can tolerate dairy... good news is the dairy issue is not permant (assuming it was caused by celiac disease) and once your healed you can have dairy agian.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm noticing on the ensure bottle it says lactose free... but at the bottom of the ingredients it says contains milk and soy ingredients. So I bet the milk part gave me my reaction. That is very good news that the dairy issue isn't permanent! I just hope it's not the soy that bothers me.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Thanks for the link! I just printed it out. I''m starting a folder of print outs to keep in my car.

Today I had an ensure drink(nutritional drink) and it said it is gluten free. But I had a reaction after I had it. I just noticed now that the ingredients include soy lecithin and soy protein isolate. So maybe I'm allergic to soy. I wonder....

Maybe I;ll drink another one tomorrow and see what happens.

I just saw somewhere on here that Ensure may have oats in it. Be sure to check the label.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...