Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I saw a candy item at Costco yesterday it looked so good. One of the ingreidients is Rice Malt. Anyone know what that is? I have never heard of it.

Malt is made by sprouting grains until the shoot appears. At this point much of the carbohydrate in the grain has turned to sugar, which is intended to support the growth of the new plant. The sprouted grain is immediately dried and roasted, then the sugar is extracted at a low enough temperature not to cook the remaining starch. The sweet liquid is boiled down until thick as molasses.

Rice malt should be gluten-free unless there is cross-contamination. Contact the manufacturer for more information.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...