This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Why to be careful with Lotions, makeup, shampoos etc.

kalo

kalo Rookie

So I have a question. I keep reading that you have to be careful with makeup, sun screen etc. etc. Why is this? Is it just to avoid DH and if you don't have a problem with it you don't need to worry? I'm still learning all this. Hugs, Carol B

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply
tarnalberry Community Regular

Have you ever used sunblock on your face, and when licking your lips, gotta a touch of a nasty taste from it? Have you ever used lotion on your hands, then picked up some carrots (or other finger food) to eat? Have you ever had the wind whip hair into your mouth?

Those are the reasons I avoid gluten in non-food items. I certainly don't plan for that sort of thing, but I just don't want to bother with the risk.

jaimek Enthusiast

Carol,