Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I've read in recipes that "Log Cabin" maple syrup is okay. What's the difference between the maple syrups?

I have Aunt Jamima and the ingredient list looks ok. I was planning on having some gluten free pancakes tomorrow with it - I hope it's ok!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Some have, actaully many have gluten in them. If its 100% pure maple syrup it should be fine. Aslo if you have a kroger near you all Kroger storebrand maple syurps are gluten-free. I never check Log Cabin or Aunt Jamima but I think I read that only some of thier varities are safe.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I've read in recipes that "Log Cabin" maple syrup is okay. What's the difference between the maple syrups?

Be careful--Log Cabin Syrups are NOT gluten-free, with the exception of their Log Cabin Country Kitchen Syrup. Aunt Jemima syrups are gluten-free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks so much! The recipe that I got the Log Cabin syrup from was a gluten-free recipe! Argh! I'm still very new at this so I have much to learn. Y'all's input was very helpful...I shall pick-up different maple syrup on my next shopping trip.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest nini

I use real maple syrup, but I recently confirmed with Aldi's that their Aunt Maple's Original Syrup is gluten free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Pure maple syrup is absolutely gluten-free, since is has only one ingredient: sap. Okay, that doesn't sound so good, but the sugar maple is tapped for its sap during the spring season when days are warm and nights are cold, which results in a high volume of sap which contains lots of sugar. It is boiled down to remove much of the water leaving the thick, sweet liquid.

Maple flavored syrup is an attempt to duplicate this. It uses various flavoring, sweetening and thickening agents, and many of these are potential gluten sources. It does not have to be the flavoring. Many flavored syrups are gluten-free, but you have to check. As Vincent said, Kroger house brand syrups are gluten-free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think it does sound better to say I like pure maple syrup than I like tree sap!!

Here's a recipe that uses pure maple syrup, as usual, no measurements from me, sorry, I just pour! I make salad dressing with olive oil, maple syrup (about the same amount as the oil), a little less lemon juice, some chopped garlic, a little gluten-free mustard and salt. I make it right in the bottom of the salad bowl before I toss the lettuce into it. It makes even the pickiest eaters eat their salad!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I hate to confess, I did kind of like the taste of all those fakey syrups--but one look at the ingredient list, and I will NEVER buy them again. They all use high-fructose corn syrup, which seems to leave me hungrier than when I started to eat, and makes me thirsty all day, and is just generally EVIL. I refuse to EVER feed them to my kids.

Luckily, I think real maple syrup does taste even better than fakey syrup. You can buy it quite inexpensively at Costco or Sam's Club.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...