Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

so is buchwheat bad because the co-op has a gluten free shopping list and they have waffles on it but there buckwheat waffles, should they remove these items from there list

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

buckwheat, itself, is gluten free. often buckwheat is mixed with wheat for pancakes and the like, but buckwheat is actually a fruit, and gluten free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
oh ok so if the box says gluten free and its made with buckwheat its safe??

ALWAYS read the ingredients. While you ought to be able to follow that rule, we've had a handful of cases where companies were incorrect in their labels. ALWAYS read ingredient lists.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just FYI from www.m-w.com

Main Entry: buck·wheat

Pronunciation: 'b&k-"hwEt, -"wEt

Function: noun

Etymology: Dutch boekweit, from Middle Dutch boecweit, from boec- (akin to Old High German buohha beech tree) + weit wheat -- more at BEECH

1 : any of a genus (Fagopyrum of the family Polygonaceae, the buckwheat family) of herbs with alternate leaves, clusters of apetalous pinkish white flowers, and triangular seeds; especially : either of two plants (F. esculentum and F. tartaricum) cultivated for their edible seeds

2 : the seed of a buckwheat used as a cereal grain

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I thought buckwheat was in the rice family - not a fruit - learn something new everyday.

Technically its part of the same family as rhubarb's and may weeds, sorrel etc.

The green parts of the plant are poisionous like uncooked rhubarb but it is also quite a heavy ingredient .. many people tend to find it sits heavy on the stomach.

For me its a backup I use making crepes etc for a quick snack... but it has a strong taste and doesn't usually replace wheat well unless the nutty taste is wanted.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
oh ok so if the box says gluten free and its made with buckwheat its safe??

Buckwheat is safe. So long as there are no other ingredients like wheat, spelt, triticale, rye or oats or barley.

What brand? Some brands are more reliable than others.

Annette

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...