Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

In some info that my doctor gave me it says that dried fruit should be avoided on a gluten-free diet....does anyone know about this? I eat a trail mix with dried fruit and nuts all the time. Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
In some info that my doctor gave me it says that dried fruit should be avoided on a gluten-free diet....does anyone know about this? I eat a trail mix with dried fruit and nuts all the time. Thanks!

As always, read labels. I remember picking up a package that had all the good things in there I could eat on front, started eating, turned the package over to read the fine print "wheat starch". GRR Guess it's used to help spread the preservatives or something. Individually I'm sure dried fruits are safe - raisins, apricots (my favorite) and such. Or you can make your own.

Hope this helps some.

Annette

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As said, ALWAYS read labels. Most dried fruit is gluten free, but you'll want to check for "Manufactured in a facility that processes..." warning, and the ingredient list. Rolled dates almost always have oat flour (and, hence, are out), but most other things are usually fine. But always check.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...