Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Does anyone know if marshmallows (sp?) are gluten-free? I had a campfire mocha at Caribou yesterday and was sick, and was wondering if it was from the mini marhmallows they sprinkled on top (shouldn't be anything else with gluten in there).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is possible that they dust the conveyer belts the marshmallows go over when processed/packaged etc. with wheat flour, so they don't stick. It's a common practice for all kinds of products. It's enough to make you sick, but not enough for them to be forced to put 'wheat' into the ingredients list.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've seen a lot of marmallows with modified food starch in them. I would avoid them eating out unless you can see the ingredients. Sorry you felt yucky!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think (last time I checked) that KRAFT marshmallows are okay, they say modified food starch but Kraft writes Wheat if it's got wheat and it doesn't say anything after it (or it might say corn, I don't remember.)

in any case Jet Puffed are gluten-free

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...