Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

e&j0304

Hpp, Hvp, And Msg

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Does anyone know for sure? According to Dangerous Grains, they shouldn't be consumed if you're trying to be gluten free, but I thought that they were ok to eat.

I am trying to get back to the basics with my dd because we are having some contamination issues or something with her and I am wondering if these could be culprits.

Let me know what you tihnk, please! It would be nice to hear others' personal opinions.

Thanks in advance!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The FDA requires that the source of HVP and HPP be disclosed. Sometimes this disclosure is in the "contains" statement at the end of the ingredient list. Or it may be listed directly after the ingredient. Most HVP/HPP comes from soy, but it can come from wheat.

MSG is gluten free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest nini

I'm only aware of TVP as containing gluten, not HPP or HVP.

MSG is gluten free, but a lot of people are either allergic to it or sensitive to it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...