Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

Kiki2

Wheat Free And Gluten Free

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Quick Q... If it says Gluten free it means wheat free right....but if it says wheat free it doesnt mean its gluten free? If some one could help out that would be great...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest schmenge
Quick Q... If it says Gluten free it means wheat free right....but if it says wheat free it doesnt mean its gluten free? If some one could help out that would be great...

That sounds correct to me. "Gluten free" would be free of wheat, barley and rye. Whereas "wheat free" could still contain barely or rye.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not so in the Uk!

Gluten free can still contain up to 200parts per million (codex)-so a no no for any allergic to wheat.

<_< ,but hey,you're in the States so ignore me!! :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

yeah, it's kinda one of those a square is a rectangle but a rectangle isn't a square type of things.

anyway gluten free should be wheat free in the US (for now, I have heard rumblings otherwise)

but wheat free can still have gluten (although I suspect I am repeating and should have read the thred)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, if it says gluten free you are usually good but check the label anyways because that is a good habit to be getting into and just make sure there is not something obvious on there that would contain gluten. If it says wheat free then it probably has rye, barley, or oats in it so definitely check that label good.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not to confuse the issue, but some companies, such as Arrowhead Mills, will put a "wheat-free" label on the box even if the product does not contain any gluten ingredients. They chose the wheat-free label over the gluten-free label because that particular batch was not tested for gluten.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have heard reports, but not seen first hand, that some products labeld gluten-free contain oats. Until we have a defintion of gluten-free here in America, I dont think you can trust lable "gluten-free" unless its from a known brand thats good about it (ie Enjoylife, Nestle, and otherss)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...