Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I saw a Whatchamacallit the other day and remembered that they used to be my favorite candy bar. For those who are unfamiliar, it's chocolate covered, has PB and caramel, and crispy rice. It's made by Hershey and the ingredients LOOKED ok to me... does anyone eat them? Does anyone know if they are gluten-free? The only thing I worried about was the crispy rice, but it doesn't say anything about malt in the ingredients.

Thanks!

- Lauren

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

These are the ingredients as I could find them online. I don't know if this is the most recent formulation.

Milk Chocolate , Sugar , Nonfat Milk , Cocoa Butter , Chocolate , Lactose , Milk Fat , Soy Lecithin , PGPR As Emulsifiers , Vanillin An Artificial Flavor , High Fructose Corn Syrup , Crisp Rice , Sugar , Vegetable Oil , Partially Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oils , Partially Hydrogenated Soybean Oils , Partially Defatted Peanuts , Reduced Minerals Whey Milk , Nonfat Milk , Refined Palm Kernel Oil or Coconut Oil 2% or Less , Dairy Butter 2% or Less , Salt 2% or Less , Mono- and Diglycerides 2% or Less , Malt 2% or Less , Molasses 2% or Less , Soy Lecithin 2% or Less , Disodium Phosphate 2% or Less

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On ‎14‎/‎06‎/‎2006 at 4:56 PM, Guhlia said:

These are the ingredients as I could find them online. I don't know if this is the most recent formulation.

 

Milk Chocolate , Sugar , Nonfat Milk , Cocoa Butter , Chocolate , Lactose , Milk Fat , Soy Lecithin , PGPR As Emulsifiers , Vanillin An Artificial Flavor , High Fructose Corn Syrup , Crisp Rice , Sugar , Vegetable Oil , Partially Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oils , Partially Hydrogenated Soybean Oils , Partially Defatted Peanuts , Reduced Minerals Whey Milk , Nonfat Milk , Refined Palm Kernel Oil or Coconut Oil 2% or Less , Dairy Butter 2% or Less , Salt 2% or Less , Mono- and Diglycerides 2% or Less , Malt 2% or Less , Molasses 2% or Less , Soy Lecithin 2% or Less , Disodium Phosphate 2% or Less

Malt extract can have <20ppm or >20ppm depending upon how it is processed. I think your confidence level needs to be changed subject to test results.
Source: https://www.coeliac.org.uk/glossary/barley-malt-extract/

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Adeling said:

Malt extract can have <20ppm or >20ppm depending upon how it is processed. I think your confidence level needs to be changed subject to test results.
Source: https://www.coeliac.org.uk/glossary/barley-malt-extract/

You are responding to a post that is over 10 years old.  Product info may have changed in that period of time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
15 minutes ago, Adeling said:

Is this an automated response or am I missing something?

No.  But you brought  up a very old topic (2006) and I wanted people that might now see it, to know that product info on it might be out of date.  You can post new info, that's OK. :)

 

In the US, malt is not  considered gluten free as a general rule.  

Edited by kareng

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...